Beautiful in God’s Eyes

beautiful

As a young girl, I never saw myself as beautiful. I didn’t enjoy looking in the mirror for long periods of time.  I always tried to find reassurance from others about my beauty but never looked to God for the reminder. Even in my early 30’s I struggled with this.

Then I prayed about it, I gave that struggle to God. He has brought me through so much ugliness in my life that I never saw my true beauty. Thanks to God’s grace I now see myself as God sees me, beautiful on the inside AND outside.

The song “Beautiful Things” by the music group Gungor has always had a deep meaning to me. There is one sentence in the lyrics that continues to stand out to me, some times even keeping me awake at night-“You make beautiful things out of the dust”. How amazing is it that God would take someone and make them beautiful at their lowest time in their life?

This summer while on a mission trip to Hong Kong, I became friends with a young girl named Joey.  She touched my heart in so many ways. I kept telling her how beautiful she was. Then she started to repeat what I said to her. I had to capture this on video. As women, if we started our morning by looking into the mirror and said those three little words “I am beautiful” imagine how are lives would change.  

When was the last time you told yourself you are beautiful? Do you ignore pictures taken of you because you can’t look for too long? I want to encourage you today to take two minutes and look in the mirror, tell yourself how amazingly beautiful God has made you! Then, write this Bible verse on your mirror with an erasable marker so you can see it daily.

Song of Songs 4:7- “You are altogether beautiful, my darling, And there is no blemish in you”.

In Christ,

Carey Oswald

P.S. In case you haven’t heard the song “Beautiful Things” here is the video. Enjoy!!
8 thoughts on “Beautiful in God’s Eyes

  1. Awesome testimony Carey! Did you know the praise team is singing that song on Sunday, now it will be even sweeter for you and all the women of the congregation!

    • Janet, I had no idea that this will be played on Sunday!! I was in traffic last week and God just really laid this on my heart. Thank you for reading….Much love to you.

  2. You are so beautiful and I am truly blessed to have shared bible study with and continue to enjoy fb time with you! You are a great inspiration to all of us women! Thank you for the great reminder not only for my Beautiful self but for my BEAUTIFUL daughter! Love ya Carey!

    • Teresa, I’ve been blessed by your friendship. We are so glad you came by and checked out the blog! Keeping coming back, there are new authors each day of the week. My day is Friday.

  3. I have a recording on my phone of my 5 year old niece singing Beautiful Things. It makes me happy whenever I listen to it.

Leave a Reply

