The Art of Listening

ArtOfListening

When my niece was 3 or 4 she and her mother, my sister Carol worked on worship skills. Becca loved to sing, so mom encouraged participation when the hymns began.  Even if her words or tune were slightly different the objective was that Becca could be a part of the service. One particular Sunday as the last notes of the organist ended, Becca was still singing energetically. My sister leaned down and with fingers pressed to her lips, whispered, “Shsh. Now we need to listen.” My niece’s rather loud response was “Don’t shush me now momma, I’m singing to Jesus!”  While my sister would rather have disappeared beneath the pew, several members smiled and chuckled.

The response to this scenario suggests that there are always times in our lives when we need to sing God’s praises, but sometimes rather than us always talking, God urges and invites us to listen. Ah… the art of slowing down, blocking out the noise and the demands of our time…sitting and listening to God’s voice. We often ask for help, a solution, direction and wonder “Where is God? Is He even listening?” The question is, am I? How many answers have I missed and in the process needlessly struggled because I was too busy talking and not being quiet; tuning my voice rather than my ear?

Father, forgive me for the times I turned a deaf ear to you. Help me to balance my praise with the willingness to be still and listen for your voice.

“This is my Son, whom I love. Listen to Him.” Mark 9:7

Blessings to you.

Doneta Doehling

Leave a Reply

