Conviction in the Car

I love Christian radio.

Recently, I’ve found the short messages in-between music, to be most profound, thought-provoking, well…just plain convicting.

  • “What would happen if you woke up tomorrow with only the things you thanked God for today?”
  • “Think you’re too busy to pray?………(dead air for three seconds) What did you just do with those last three seconds?”

Wow! Right?

If you’re like me, most of the dialogue I’m spewing at the Lord includes requests. I’m sending lots of invitations, but how often am I sending him a Thank You note?

Don’t misunderstand; He wants to hear our requests, desires, needs, and concerns.

“This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him.” 1 John 5:14-15

Look what 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18says, “Rejoice always; pray without ceasing. In everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Did you catch it? “In everything give thanks”

It’s easy to give thanks when I feel like God grants me the answer I was looking for. What about when my request is answered with what I view as less than satisfactory, am I thanking Him then? Honestly, I’m not so sure.

I imagine prayers of thanksgiving are like symphonies rising to heaven, delivering glory and praise to Him in a beautiful display of gratitude.

So what about the second point? What a relief that my prayers don’t have to be some long dissertation that go on and on and on… (although if they do, He won’t nod off!)

God certainly welcomes any length prayer, even if it’s just one word. He knows the requests and desires of our heart and longs for us to call on Him, even if it’s in short spurts while driving down the road, brushing our teeth, or changing the baby’s diaper.

Our Lord is relational. It pretty powerful to think that the creator of the universe wants to know me, support me, guide me, forgive me, love me, and grant me peace in this sinful, chaotic world.

I pray that you will let Him do the same for you!

Jessica Brashear

One thought on “Conviction in the Car

Leave a Reply

