Sights to Behold

lamb-wolf

On a recent evening, my husband, Jim, and I were taking a walk around Lake Zorinsky when we were blessed with a spectacular sight. Gracefully running through a nearby meadow were dozens of deer, white tails up and gleaming in the sun.

Soon the deer streamed into the forested area where we were walking. They circled around and ran away. It was not our last sighting of the beautiful creatures, though. Moments later they re-appeared, racing across the trail we were walking along.

I have seen other spectacular sights in my life. As a child I was amazed by the tall, imposing sequoia trees of Northern California. Years later, I was awed by the sight of a thunderstorm rolling in over the badlands. And I never cease to delight in a double rainbow, a mother bird building her nest, and geese flying in formation as if led by a drill sergeant.

God created a world filled with spectacular sights. Yet at one time the world was even more beautiful. Unmarred by sin, the earth gleamed like a diamond in the universe.

As Jesus was preparing his disciples for the cross he looked ahead to a time when we will once again reside in a more beautiful place. “I am going to prepare a place for you” (John 14:2) he told the disciples.

Isaiah paints a picture of the peaceable kingdom in heaven where, “The wolf will live with the lamb, the leopard will lie down with the goat, the calf and the lamb and the yearling together, and a little child will lead them (Isaiah 11:6).

Revelation 21:1 says there will be a new heaven and a new earth. It paints a picture of a new Jerusalem, a gleaming city, where there will be no sun or moon to shine because the glory of God gives light and the lamp is Jesus the lamb.

Seeing spectacular sights like dozens of deer sprinting across a field or a thunderstorm in the badlands refreshes my spirit.

Even more so, I love to picture the spectacular sights of heaven and imagine what it will look like. When I am stressed out or struggling in anyway, I know that I have a perfect eternity waiting for me and I am refreshed. The most spectacular part of heaven will be seeing the glory of God face to face, and standing in his presence.

I encourage you to spend some time pondering heaven and imagining its spectacular sights. Imagine yourself face to face with the Holy One. Let this image infuse your spirit with delight.

May you be refreshed!

Kelly Haack

Leave a Reply

