Sons and Daughters

sons_and_daughtersWe were sitting at the table enjoying a normal lunch (with a 6, 3.5 and 1.5 year old—whatever kind of normalcy one can hope for).

I asked my oldest, Andrew, “Please get Mom a cup of water”. To which he was happy for an excuse to get up from the table – something about his boundless energy and sitting still that don’t always mix well.  Upon his return to said table with water, I stated, “Thank you, my son.”

“Dad, why did mom call me Mason?” To which my husband and I chuckled.

Then I began to explain “Not Mason. I called you ‘my son’. Who at this table is a son?”

Andrew looked blankly at me; but my 3 year old daughter piped up, “Andrew is your son”.

I asked, “Who else at the table is a son”?

Alaina piped up again “Lucas”.

“Anyone else?”  I paused, and then continued, “Who is a daughter at this table.” Alaina immediately pointed to herself. I responded by pointing to myself too. “I’m a daughter too. My mom is Grammy Tammy.”

“Dad is a son too,” stated Andrew. “And Grandpa Marvin is a son, and so is Grandpa Stan. And Great Grandma Diane is a daughter and so is Grandma Marcia!” He gets it! Wow.

As I am thinking about the little light bulb that just went off inside this 6 year old’s head, I begin to ponder my own role as both a mother and a daughter. It’s funny how this dichotomy is granted to you the moment you become a parent.  You are now a daughter or son as well as a mother or father. It made me ponder the Trinity and how God is both Father and Son (not to even mention the Spirit- mind blowing, huh).  John 1:18 No one has ever seen God, but the one and only Son, who is himself God and is in closest relationship with the Father, has made him known.

Christ Jesus, Son of God and Father of all creation. Our Lord and our Maker.  “But when the set time had fully come, God sent his Son, born of a woman, born under the law,  to redeem those under the law, that we might receive adoption to sonship. Because you are his sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, “Abba,Father.” Galatians 4:4-6.

We all begin as daughters and sons. Sometimes this earthly relationship is a blessing and other times it is a struggle. You are no less a daughter or a son if you are adopted or if your parents are no longer living in the flesh. This role, by definition, is how you were created. And if we reread the verse above from Galatians; we marvel that not only are we earthly daughters and sons, we are daughters and sons of the King of Heaven.  We are adopted through the sacrifice of Christ. We have done nothing, yet we are invited by the King to take on the role of Princess or Prince.

Wow God, you are Good!!

Enjoy your day, my fellow royalty,

Stacey

Leave a Reply

