Thirsty?

I love having cold, filtered water in my refrigerator door.water

In our first home, we bought a refrigerator that had a filtered water line – but inside the fridge. I was excited to get it moved in and try it out. We hooked it up to the copper water line that was cut into the wood flooring and gave it a try. The results were less than satisfactory. Let’s just say this new homeowner was not impressed!! The copper water line that was sticking up from the wood floor (bright and shiny—looking very much unused) was probably a great idea- before the basement ceiling was finished with sheet rock. Yes, the water line was turned off (probably to finish the ceiling), but never to be turned on again (without cutting a hole in the aforementioned surface).

In our current home (just celebrated 3 years here), I still get sort of giddy every time I grab a glass of chilled water from the door! It brings me such a ridiculous sense of satisfaction when this little part of my world works just the way it is designed to.  Quenching my thirst couldn’t be easier; and, since I am pregnant, I visit the little spigot of joy even more frequently.

In one of my favorite Biblical happenings, John relates the story of a Samaritan woman and Jesus getting a drink from a well. No big deal, right?

WRONG

It’s a pretty big deal. First off, Jesus stops at the well on his way to Jerusalem—going through Samaria—Sychar, a place and a group of people that normal Jewish folks go out of their way to avoid. Second, most women went to get water during the evening hours as the heat of midday was starting to fade. Not this lady. She is going to the well at around noon to get her water. Which brings us to point number three: she is not the kind of woman who other women get along with. She is the kind of woman who is talked about with whispers and snide remarks.

Jesus asks her for a drink. She is amazed.

“You are a Jew and I am a Samaritan woman. How can you ask me for a drink?” (For Jews do not associate with Samaritans) John 4:9

Jesus patiently engages this woman. Please, do me a favor, sometime read John chapter four.

The conversation continues. Jesus, knowing all about what kind of woman she is, invites her to drink the Living Water. The invitation goes like this: “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Excuse me… Jesus asks for a drink. The woman asks him a question. Jesus, knowing full well how full of sin this woman is (she has had five husbands and the man she is currently with is not her husband), offers her water that will become a spring of eternal life. So wait a minute… Jesus knows my sin. He knows the deep fears I face. He knows how I long to be better all on my own. He knows that I cannot. He knows that I need Him. He knows my past, meets me in the present and is waiting to show me the glorious riches he has in store for me. Yes!

I do not deserve any of this. But boy am I glad that the cool refreshing water from my refrigerator is not what Jesus offers. He offers to permanently quench our thirst through His life, death and resurrection!

Now that’s true satisfaction.

2 thoughts on “Thirsty?

Leave a Reply

