Who am I?

Who am I?

The question makes me smile. Makes me think of my son as a young boy, flying through the room as a caped crusader (terry-cloth towel loosely cinched around his little neck) pronouncing to the world “I am Batman – the animated series!” Having watched many of the shows introductions, and too young to understand the meanings of all the words, he incorrectly assumed the phrase was the Batman’s full name. While he was off on his linguistics, his animation was right on!

Who am I?

I get great confidence and peace from this question. God himself answers it. He is the great I AM. It is who he told Moses to say he was when he spoke to the Israelites. “I AM WHO I AM.” (Exodus 3:14a) “The Lord, the God of your fathers – the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob – has sent me to you.” (Exodus 3:15) He is our God.

Just for fun, check out this poem, written by Elizabeth Gunter Wallace, in Sylvia Gunter’s devotionals – Green Eggs and I AM – a ‘Seussical’ way of hearing this.

Who am I?

The question gives me hope.

Jesus asks His disciples this and it is recorded in the Gospels. Don’t you love this glimpse scripture gives us? Jesus knew just the prodding they needed, that Peter needed, for him to respond with his confession of faith, “The Christ of God.” May we be encouraged and prodded to respond the same.

He also answers the question himself. “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die.” (John 11: 25-26) I believe the hope comes from the answer to the question!

Who am I?

The question gives me great joy because God has answered it throughout his Word.

I am able to do all things. Philippians 4:13
I am His handiwork. Ephesians 2:10
Never forsaken. Hebrews 13:5
I am freed from sin. Romans 6:7, 22
I am an overcomer. 1 John 5:4-5
I am purchased. Revelation 5:9

And these are just a taste of the many rich identity promises He gives us!

When I read God’s words the villain of this world is silenced and the truth of the cross fills me up. Jesus’ love somehow, mysteriously becomes tangible. Makes me want to grab my terry-cloth towel and share this news with the good citizens.

Shelli Muldoon

4 thoughts on “Who am I?

Leave a Reply

