One Touch

Several years ago, I had the gift of seeing Nicole C. Mullen perform at a Women of Faith conference. Her energy was unstoppable, her love for the Lord…obvious. She sang a song called “One Touch,” that was written about a woman from the Bible who was healed:

Mark 25:25-34

25 And a woman was there who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years. 26 She had suffered a great deal under the care of many doctors and had spent all she had, yet instead of getting better she grew worse. 27 When she heard about Jesus, she came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak, 28 because she thought, “If I just touch his clothes, I will be healed.” 29 Immediately her bleeding stopped and she felt in her body that she was freed from her suffering.30 At once Jesus realized that power had gone out from him. He turned around in the crowd and asked, “Who touched my clothes?”31 “You see the people crowding against you,” his disciples answered, “and yet you can ask, ‘Who touched me?’ ”32 But Jesus kept looking around to see who had done it. 33 Then the woman, knowing what had happened to her, came and fell at his feet and, trembling with fear, told him the whole truth. 34 He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering.”

This unnamed woman, who had been ill for so long and was mocked by others, touched Jesus and was healed! What an amazing story of Jesus’ power!

This is just one reason why I love our God!  His Son walked around for many years sharing His love for the Father with others. During those times, people touched Jesus and hugged Him. I can’t wrap my head around the fact that people were privileged enough to physically touch the Son of God! Can you even imagine saying you got to touch Jesus? We’ve never been able to look into His eyes physically, but people in these Bible stories were able to! How amazing!

I remember once while having a powerful time of prayer, I asked God to just be with me, be near me and to show me He’s there, because I needed Him so much. At the time, I happened to be in a mini-van sitting in a parking lot at the hospital. As I prayed and sobbed, I felt a squeeze on my shoulder. It was dark outside, and as you can imagine, I jumped so high because I thought there was someone actually in my van! There wasn’t anyone—physically—with me! It was God touching me, reassuring me that He was truly with me. He gave me that one touch, and it’s what I needed to get through that difficult time.

God may not always physically touch us, but His son’s life, death and resurrection will continue to resound with us for all our days.

Praying for you and the tragedy that happened in Boston yesterday. May God comfort all who are mourning.

Carey Oswald

2 thoughts on “One Touch

Leave a Reply

