Where did the time go?

Do you remember being told by friends and family “you need to cherish every moment in your kids‘ lives because they grow up so quickly.”  Well, my oldest child is going to turn 17 this week, on May 3rd. That advice was so right!

wedding

My wedding, 1998. Nic was just 2.

As I reflect on the past 17 years, I can remember taking naps with my son, cuddling, loving and hugging on him. I remember his first hair cut, his first airplane ride and even the day he helped walk me down the aisle to marry his stepfather at age 2. He’s taller than I am now, so when I hug him, it almost feels like he’s the adult and I’m the child. He has a job, drives his own car and is a responsible young man.

This weekend was a busy one for my son. He volunteered at several events, worked at his part-time job late into the night on Saturday, and then went to church on Sunday. After Sunday lunch, Nic and I relaxed on my bed for a chat. I love this time together, because we really connect and discuss the things going on in his life. I cherish these moments tremendously. Eventually, we both fell asleep. It was one of the most precious moments I can remember, waking up and having my ‘little boy’ napping near me once again.

Nic only has one year left in our home. This makes me ponder many things. What else do I need to teach him? Does he know how to do laundry? What about balancing a checkbook? Does he know how to give unconditional love to a woman? Will he treat his wife with respect and admiration? Will I ever get to take a nap with him again? Will he miss me as much as I will miss him?

nic prom

Nic, prom 2013

The more I think about it, the more my heart races. I already cry when I think about his friends who are graduating this year.  I can’t imagine what my feelings will be when I see him in his own cap and gown, walking across the stage.

One thing I know when it comes to Nic’s life: I trust in God. I know He will take care of my son and will guide him. Why is it that as a mom, I am still so nervous to turn this child that I gave birth to (he was 13 days, 23 hours and 23 minutes late) out into a world—a world that at times can be full of evil and pain?

Trust is the only thing that’s going to get me through the next year, and the years ahead. I know many of you are in the same boat; some of your children are graduating this year. You are emotional just reading this right?

Please know, you are not alone. God’s got this.  We just have to trust, love and surrender our hearts to Him.

Take a minute, squeeze your children tight. They REALLY DO grow up so fast!

Nicolas Alexander, you mean the world to me. I love you so very much, and I am so proud of you.

With much love,

Carey Oswald

6 thoughts on “Where did the time go?

  1. God’s word reminds us “Train a child in the way he should go and he will not depart from it.” You are blessed Carey!

Leave a Reply

