Legacy

DarleneandHarold

Harold and Darlene, 1948

Last weekend my husband and I were blessed to be guests at an anniversary party. The couple celebrated sixty-five years of marriage! Wow! I can’t imagine!

Now, we weren’t technically related to the couple. Harold and Darlene are our son-in-law’s grandparents. Their family decided to invite only family, including all of the “in-laws’ parents.”

What I loved about joining in on this celebration was watching the amazing way this family connected. They really helped the “outsiders” feel like “insiders.” I began to wish I had been an actual part of this family. It was easy to see the great love they have for each other. And that love just naturally flowed over to everyone there.

To honor their grandparents, one of the grandchildren read a special poem she had written. Another gave a beautiful prayer before dinner. Their four daughters and grandchildren even put together a “Jeopardy” game with special categories: ‘Harold,’ ‘Darlene,’ and ‘Potpourri.’ Lively discussions ensued as memories were kicked into high gear.

I began to think about the legacy these two special people will leave behind, and went from there to thinking about my own little family and the legacy I get to leave them. http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/legacy defines legacy as “something transmitted by or received from an ancestor or predecessor or from the past.”

If only I could transmit faith. But that’s God job, isn’t it? If only I could make sure my children, grandchildren and someday—hopefully—great-grandchildren trust in God, and love Him with their whole heart. Well, there is something I can do, and that is this: I can try to live my life for Jesus. I can try to be an example to them of what a faith-filled life can be (with God’s help, of course). I can be real and honest with my family, asking for and receiving forgiveness when needed. In the process, I can help them realize that without Jesus’ sacrifice for my sins, I am nothing. Also, I can (and do!) love them, encourage them, pray for them, and most importantly trust God to love them even more than I do.

What legacy will you be leaving behind?

The Lord says: “My people, I promise to give you my Spirit and my message. These will be my gifts to you and your families forever. I, the Lord, have spoken.” Isaiah 59:21 [CEV]

Happy Anniversary to a beautiful couple!
Have a beautiful day!

Jeanne

Leave a Reply

