Oh, what a Friend!

Oh, what a Friend!

“What a friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear, what a privilege to carry, everything to God in prayer.”

What a beautiful line, what a beautiful hymn, “What a Friend we have in Jesus”. There is such comfort I get when I hear it. It was one of my grandma’s favorite. One of my mom’s favorites. One of my favorites. I love hearing it, love sharing it. I hope someday my children blog about it being their mom’s favorite song.

It’s my favorite because it’s the truth.

“Neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Romans 8:39

Along with feeding ourselves the truth, we have to guard against the false messages we get. They are subtle.

For example, as I prepare for my daughter’s graduation, like many parents, I purchased the book Oh, the Places You’ll Go! by Dr. Seuss. My intent is to encourage and inspire her – get her excited about her future. But first I’ve some work to do.

Whether he knew it or not, Dr. Seuss was Biblical in letting the reader (my graduate) know there would be some trouble ahead in life.

“I have told you these things so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

Where he fell short, however, is his suggestion we can face it by ourselves – in his words, ‘all alone’.

“All Alone!
Whether you like it or not,
Alone will be something
you’ll be quite a lot.”

Ugh! Nope.

Reread Romans. NOTHING separates us from God and His sweet love!

So, do I throw out the Dr. Seuss book with the bath water? With the baby? Wait? How does that expression go?

Don’t think so – it still is colorful, fun and for the most part encouraging. But I AM going to smatter the pages with some handwritten truth about who is ALWAYS with her!

Does she walk alone? NO!
Can she face her challenges by herself on her own strength? NO! But she can do all things through Christ Jesus who gives her strength.

Mountains will move alright, just not by will, by her faith!

Are you in need of some solace? Listen to this Alan Jackson rendition and be reminded of your good friend.

In Christ,
Shelli Muldoon

2 thoughts on “Oh, what a Friend!

Leave a Reply

