Be still and know that I AM GOD

Sometimes it seems like nothing can go right.  It’s the old “feast or famine.”  I have a friend who a few years ago was definitely in the famine stage.  A divorce, a bankruptcy, a job loss, a pregnant unmarried daughter, a totaled vehicle were the major trials and tribulations she faced in a short time span.  When she called me, I’d hesitate to answer the phone.  I knew her heart was being torn apart and I was never certain how to respond to her.  I cared; she knew I cared.  So I would just listen and commiserate with her.

It seems like most of our conversations would end with the phrase “hang in there.”  That cliché was used many a time as encouragement and hope.  Then I learned that the person in crisis mode has to take care of him/herself.  And I’d tell her to “breathe and hang in there.”  Breathe in some energy and breathe out the toxins.

One of my favorite Bible verses is Psalm 46:10.  “Be still and know that I am God.”

It’s much more powerful than the words my friend and I shared.  But we were on the right track.

Next time I need to hang in there, I plan to do the following:

…Slow down and let God do His thing.  He’s the one with power.

…Relax and let His love envelop me.

…Take a chill pill and look around.  I have so many blessings right in front of me.

…Stop what I’m doing and thank God for simply being my God.

…Stop and smell the flowers….God’s handiwork.

…Breathe in God’s strength.  Breathe out my woes.

…Recognize that God’s will may not be my will.

…And yes, I’ll probably cry.  And that’s OK.  Read John 11:35.

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

4 thoughts on “Be still and know that I AM GOD

Leave a Reply

