A Little Bit Country?

Never been a fan of country music, but I am fast becoming one.

When I was a little girl, during the summers my brothers and I would stay at my grandparent’s house in Lincoln for a week. If we were out and about, my grandma kept a close eye on the time. She had to be back to the house by a certain hour so she wouldn’t miss her ‘story’. It was a time before cable boxes, recorders and TiVo – the dark ages. There were many opportunities to miss her daily soap opera.

I can relate. I have my ‘stories’ too – American Idol and All Star Celebrity Apprentice. I am not proud of it – but I am finally being transparent. It is true. Unlike my grandma, my schedule doesn’t revolve around them. My husband Mark makes sure they are recorded, maybe as an act of love for me, but my hunch he doesn’t want to miss his stories either.

Both of these shows had prominent country icons on them. American Idol had Keith Urban. And he is just plain darling. Love it when he calls the contestants ‘baby’. It is not in a creepy way. Not in a sexist way. But it is in an encouraging, almost fatherly, ‘I want good things for you’ way. Nice. Nice country.

But my now favorite country musician is from Celebrity Apprentice, Trace Adkins. He won. He went into the finale with an amazing quiet confidence. I didn’t realize it through the season but his words at the end of the show revealed where that confidence comes. He is a Christian — a professing, seemingly, can’t hide my love for Jesus kind of Christian. He at least made use of his platform on the show. In talking about his opponent and team, he said “They do magic tricks, but Jesus makes blind people see.” Read 1 Kings 18:16-39. “When all the people saw [emphasis mine] this, they fell prostrate and cried, “The Lord-he is God!”

And I love how he spoke of Penn Jillette – Trace said he [Penn] was the ‘most ethical atheist’ he knew. Wonder how he knew Penn was an atheist. Common knowledge? Perhaps. But I like to think that during show down time Trace was busy doing kingdom work and sharing Jesus. Praying for you Penn.

I am not line dancing yet, but I did search Trace’s “Love Will” song on You Tube, from the Apprentice finale night. It reminds me of 1 Corinthians 13:8a, “Love never fails.” Sing it, speak it, and share in country twang and or whatever platform the Lord has given you.

Getting ready to two-step at my nephew’s wedding dance,
Shelli Muldoon

4 thoughts on “A Little Bit Country?

  1. Pingback: wow gold eu

  2. This is a recurring theme in country music and one of the biggest reasons why I became a fan of it, when I wasn’t previously. Josh Turner sings a lot about his faith, Brad Paisley has some songs about his, Scotty McCreery, even Dolly Parton “He’s Alive”, “Jesus and Gravity” has some songs about Jesus, “He’s Alive”, “Jesus and Gravity”. There are many others not coming to mind right now. Not as much in the contemporary Country that crosses over with Rock and Hip Hop, but the more “traditional” and traditional style singers/groups. Also, a lot of Christian artists are based in Nashville, so many of them have country roots.

Leave a Reply

