So Suscited!

ImageSo suscited! These were my nephew’s words when he was 2 or 3. Sam couldn’t manage the word “excited”.  So it came out, “Mommy, I’m so suscited!”  That same phrase came to mind the morning I met with my Saturday prayer team. Wow! How I love my time with this these sisters in Christ and to see God working in their lives! Love. Now there’s a word I overuse at times. I love this color. Didn’t you just love that book? I love my coffee (well that may not be an exaggeration). But my prayer team? Yes, love is an apt description.

Last Saturday was no exception as we (seven of us) gathered for several hours, but it wasn’t about numbers, it was the sharing before the prayers; the devotions of being filled up with God’s presence {reference the story of the Widow’s Oil in 2 Kings 4 1-7. Elisha and the Shunammite woman]; the reading of the Psalms we were led to. How encouraging and fun to share the joy (and yes, we share tears, pain and frustrations as well), but to sit together as these sisters in Christ relate part of the journey they’ve been on – heartaches of their week or sharing the unexpected way they were blessed by a group they were connected with – that is hard to put into words. It is truly difficult to paint the picture when you hear the joy in their voice, but they are unable to convey the surprising way God showed up in the people and places they least expected and gave them an answer.

I give you the joy of a mother after a phone conversation with her son who has been on his own long journey. God gave her Psalm 67, which she read aloud to us with awe of her heavenly Father’s love. I share a daughter whose brain was in overdrive, who couldn’t sleep worrying about a hospitalized mother. She finally arose, wrote down what had been racing through her mind and then was comforted in the middle of the night by Psalm 18 especially vs. 18b-19 (…the Lord was my support. He brought me out into a spacious place; He delighted in me).  I present yet another sister who was so elated after meeting a youth group from a small church in western Nebraska. These are young Christian members who have a passion for outreach and wanted to know more about Canada missions. She exclaimed, “It is so exciting to see a youth group want to minister, to want travel thousands of miles to do just that.”  Our questions followed, “Share more!”  Her response? “Wait! It gets excitinger!” What? Excitinger? Is that a word? Well, it was the one we used. We laughed, because there were no words, which is when I shared my nephew’s description of “so suscited”.

Silly? Maybe. Uplifting? Definitely. Yes, our God has many descriptions, almighty, the vine, alpha, everlasting…but when you are overwhelmed with sheer joy at the way God in His love and wisdom chooses to bless you with His power, you are simply at a loss for words.  You let His unspeakable presence wash over you in the sisters He has placed in your life and you exclaim, “Lord, it’s so exciting!” and you hear Him say, “Wait for it. It gets excitinger!” [Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift! 2 Cor 9:15]

Yes Lord, I wait in expectation for all You are prepared to show me. I am so suscited! Amen!.

Blessings to you. Doneta

Leave a Reply

