Praying for our husbands…you in?

When we say nightly prayers with our children we begin with the classic and familiar, “Now I lay me down to sleep…” We follow that with “God bless, Mommy and Daddy, Lily and Nolan, Oma and Opa, Grandma and Grandpa, all my aunts, uncles and cousins, my godparents and Granny.” We bring it home with a request for a restful night sleep, no bad dreams, and any additional prayers of thanks or concern. Then it’s kisses and lights out.

By the time my head hits the pillow, I’m already half asleep or I have fallen asleep on the couch and forced myself to climb the stairs and spend the rest of the night in my actual bed. Weary-eyed and barely conscious isn’t conducive to prayer.

I find myself praying in the car or out loud with my children when we see a need for prayer during the day. I pray before all meals and of course I pray in church. Yet, I don’t think I would ever win the award for prayer warrior.

Don’t misunderstand, I believe in the power of prayer, I believe we are strengthened through prayer, and I believe He wants me to pray to Him, regularly. I believe, I just don’t always act. I think I need a goal, a regime, something specific for which to pray.

I came across 31 days of praying for your husband. https://www.reviveourhearts.com/articles/31-days-of-praying-for-your-husband/
Who better to pray for than my husband?

Then I thought, “other women should be encouraged to do this too!“ Imagine the power in praying 31 days in a row, specifically for your husband. Imagine the enormity of thousands of women praying for their husbands? What could God do for our homes, our children, our families, our communities if we all committed to praying for our husbands? Wow!

Are you in? Take the prayer pledge with me and let’s start today. Print it off, post a reminder on your phone, just say a prayer and let’s see the Spirit work!

In His love,
Jessica Brashear

2 thoughts on “Praying for our husbands…you in?

Leave a Reply

