Rollercoasters, Skycoasters, and the Thrill of a Lifetime

SONY DSC

Tomorrow my family and I are going to Worlds of Fun for the day. I look forward to going on the Mamba and the Prowler, the Spinning Dragons and the Boomerang, the Patriot and the Bamboozler, and of course the Timber Wolf…all rollercoasters. My family and I delight in rollercoasters. I think as I get older the rollercoasters do not delight in me as much as they used to: my body gets a little achy from them. Even so, I was still ride on them for the thrills that I love.

Tomorrow it is supposed to be in the 90’s and humid. I do not look forward to that. This year there is a new policy at Worlds of Fun of two parks for the price of one. In addition to the amusement park, the admission includes the waterpark, Oceans of Fun. So we will also be able to go over there in the heat of the day and cool down, probably with thousands of our best friends.

There are a number of thrill rides at Oceans of Fun as well. The Constrictor is a large waterslide with 360 degree tight turns. Diamond Head features Waikiki Wipeout, Maui WoWee, and the Honolulu Lulu, three twisting turning water slides together reaching over 900 feet in length. At Hurricane Falls up to four people raft down a long flume and shoot up the steep sides cresting close to a 90-degree angle. These are just a few of the thrilling water rides. I cannot wait
to try them out!

Can you tell I like thrills? I have swung out over a 1,200 foot drop above the Arkansas River at 50 mph on a skycoaster at Royal Gorge Park in Colorado, climbed halfway up the rocks at Devil’s Tower in Wyoming (I only stopped climbing because I had my then six-year-old son Caleb with me and I was nervous he would slip through the rocks), and parasailed above Lake Erie to name a few adventures I have been on

And I still have more thrills on my bucket list. I would love to go deep sea diving in the Caribbean, take a helicopter tour above Hawaii’s Volcanoes National Park, skydive in Australia, and zipline through New Zealand. Oh to have the time and money!

All of these thrills, though, are nothing compared to the thrill of being in a relationship with Jesus. I get to wake up each morning and wonder what adventure I will go on with him that day. Will I see a glorious sunset? Will I watch a fledgling bird take its first flight? Will I minister to someone? Will someone minister to me?

Sometimes the thrills seem small to most people: to the grocery store to tell a bagger I will pray for him or to church to fill in for a women’s Bible study leader. Sometimes most people would consider the thrill large: to Russia to pray with women prisoners or to Hong Kong to lead a Bible class for teenage students.
Every God thrill, though, is big in God’s eyes as it advances his kingdom, and every thrill, when I ponder it, is big in my eyes. Colossians 3:23-24 says, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance.”

The reason every thrill is big to me is because I get to be a part of it for the Lord.
You see, while going on adventures with God is thrilling, even more thrilling is God himself. God the Father created every molecule to every mountain; he painted the rainbow, the sunrise and sunset, and the flower filled meadow; he made the playful monkey, the colorful macaw, the hardworking mule, and me. He is the master artist! God the Son, Jesus, conquered death with his death and resurrection and paved the path to heaven for me. Jesus is the life-giver! God, the Holy Spirit is the birth-giver. He gives birth to a relationship with Jesus, guidance in the Christian life, and the spiritual gifts to use on the adventure, all
for me. God indeed is thrilling!

In fact, while zipping around on rollercoasters and swinging through the air on skycoasters may be thrilling, a relationship with God is the thrill of an entire lifetime. Will you join the thrill with me?

Blessings in Christ,

Kelly Haack

Leave a Reply

