My flesh and my heart may fail…

I’ve been battling a nasty and infected poison oak rash since July 2nd.

I’ve never felt itch like this before. I’ve tried everything, and I mean, everything.

I’ve soaked in an Epsom salt bath, baking soda, and oatmeal.  I’ve rubbed myself in every over-the-counter, anti-itch cream on the market and tried a ridiculous amount of home remedies. The doctor finally prescribed some steroids, antibiotics, and prescription sleep aid.

Today is day 5 of the pill regime and the rash is slowing starting to look a little better. I haven’t slept much due to the incessant itching and it’s starting to take a serious toll on my patience with family members, irritability, and general outlook on life.

Bottom line, it’s been rough. I wouldn’t wish this discomfort on my worst enemy.

I’m sitting in an empty house, enjoying the quiet, and contemplating this entire ordeal. It’s ironic that I came in contact with the poisonous plant while trying to clean out some overgrown rose bushes in our yard. A sneaky, dangerous plant living among the fragrant, beautiful pink flowers.

Kind of like the Devil, right? He hides amid some beautiful things and we can’t always spot him. Before we know it, we’ve come in contact with poison that is going to spread and make us miserable.

Poison ivy oils work similarly. If you don’t get the oils off your skin immediately, you will spread them around and the rash will develop on other parts of your body.

Once the rash has developed, all you want to do is scratch. In fact, you want to scratch so badly that you actually contemplate rubbing yourself with a steel-wire brush.

It feels so good, almost euphoric.

Scratching won’t spread the rash, but it can and most likely will lead to infection. Then you’ve made the situation worse and might end up with scars.

Kind of like temptation, right? You know you shouldn’t- but it feels so good- often euphoric. It provide a temporarily thrill or comfort that can ultimately have lasting effects on your life, relationships, and health. The Devil uses bribery, trickery, and sensory pleasure to try and convince you and me that his way is better than His way.

So what are you struggling with these days? How has the Devil tricked you into trading beauty for poison? Eternal health for a life-time of infection? You’re not alone, sister.

The Devil is working over-time on all of us.

Here’s the good news! We have a Savior that came to wipe you clean, rid you of the rash and infection that ravages your mind, body, and soul. You are freed by Him and the chains binding you are cut, severed, and tossed aside.

Hallelujah!

Psalm 73:23-26 says, “Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me in to glory. Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

I pray you find peace, healing, and encouragement in this verse today. I know I have!- Jessica Brashear

2 thoughts on “My flesh and my heart may fail…

  1. Hi there! This blog post could not be written much better!

    Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept talking about this. I’ll send this information to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a
    good read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

