Comfort and Joy

I don’t know my cousin’s wife but I really like her. They live far away, and family reunions are too few. She is brave and joyful, and even compassionate to her own doctors, inquiring about their well being during her own visits.

And she is clearly dearly-loved by the many family members and friends that keep posting on her Facebook page, that send her cards and prayer shawls, that visit her, have fundraisers for her, bring food to her family, and that are reaching out to God continuously for her as she continues to battle an ugly disease. They are Jesus’ hands and feet, living His command. John 15:11-15. It is our command too.

This week, my cousin posted a difficult prognosis that his wife received. Our prayers are ramped-up. Jesus’ sweet presence is with them and throughout God’s Word we are reminded of the only prognosis, the only truths that matter.

These are some of my favorites.

“He who believes in me, as the scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart shall flow rivers of living water.'” John 7:38

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

“Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11:29

John and Lynn we continue to keep you in our prayers, knowing that our God has you now – as always – in the shelter of His wings (Psalm 91). Readers, thank you for joining me.

In Him who is our refuge,
Shelli Muldoon

Leave a Reply

