Dangled Carrots

Have you ever seen the cartoons where one character dangles a carrot in front of a mule in order to get him to move forward?  Ahh, the proverbial dangling carrot. I have a carrot over which I am currently drooling…Drool. DroolDrool!

Yes, I may need to borrow a bib from my kids to catch all of this drool.Image

What is it, you ask, that has my mouth watering, so to speak? My carrot is the mother of all jogging strollers. Its name is Bob (cue lights, cue heavenly music).  “Take your little ones with you on your fitness adventures. This BOB Stroller Strides Fitness Duallie Stroller is the perfect way to get fit without having to leave the kids behind. Keep them comfortable and secure with dual position shocks, adjustable 5-point safety harness and buckle closure. Comfort-grip handle, 2 cup holders, storage beneath the seat, front swivel wheel, and a foot-activated dual-rear parking brake make it a dream come true for parents, too. Rain or shine, the canopy keeps your kids just fine. Run done, fold it up and store it away neatly until next time.” -Target.com.  Ahh, music to my ears. The Mercedes Benz of strollers retails at about $500 and promises to make my life SO much better. At this price, I think that it will do my laundry and dishes and babysit for me too.

Yes, the world has so many fun things to drool over! And with our growing family, I’m trying to decide if this is something I want or need. No question about it. I do not need Bob. Would it be a lovely addition to the family- sure!  Would it be the best use of our family’s resources? I’m not sure.

Don’t hoard treasure down here where it gets eaten by moths and corroded by rust or—worse!—stolen by burglars. Stockpile treasure in heaven, where it’s safe from moth and rust and burglars. It’s obvious, isn’t it? The place where your treasure is, is the place you will most want to be, and end up being.” Matthew 6:19-21 (the Message)

Thank you, Jesus for reminding me that it’s not about what I have or do not have in this present life. It is about focusing on you and the treasure you offer- your peace, your joy and your presence. Help me Lord to be kingdom-minded and to allow the distractions of the world to fade away. Amen

As I am writing this, I have a song running through my head: “This World” by Caedmon’s Call. I want to share this song with you because when I get caught up in drooling over something (and trust me, the devil dangles many carrots in front of me) I try to sing this song in my head and in my heart to help me refocus! I hope you enjoy it too!caedmons call

Maybe you will find yourself singing instead of drooling this week– I hope that I will be singing and taking off the bib 😉

Stacey

Leave a Reply

