TRUST in the LORD with All Your Heart

golftourney

The Omaha Country Club hosted the U.S. Senior Open golf tournament this year.  Kenny Perry reigned as champion.  When interviewed after his victory, Mr. Perry referenced Proverbs 3:5-6.  These words were his guiding force the final day of the tourney.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

(These verses are included in 100 Verses Every Christian Needs to Know.)

Awesome verses for a golfer.   How spot-on.  Trust in the Lord your swing proves true; listen to His advice on what club to use and let Him guide your drive straight.  Talk about a life application!

These are also awesome verses for me.  I may not be a golfer, but I’m one of God’s children living in this broken world.  Each day I fall short of God’s grace.  Each day I exhibit a stubborn streak ignoring my Savior’s role in my life.  Each day my discernment may prove faulty.

I need to cast God as the leading man in my life just like Mr. Perry cast Him as his guiding presence on the golf course.  I know Jesus won the ultimate victory for me over sin and the devil.  With God by my side as I walk the fairway of life, my paths will become straight because He is there to help me through the ups and downs – the ins and outs of this broken world…and the sand traps!

This one’s for you, NZ, PLV Monarch golfer.

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

Leave a Reply

