Lady in Waiting

We have all been there. Waiting. Waiting. And then waiting some more. Waiting can feel like an eternity. It doesn’t matter what you are waiting for. It often feels like torture. I am a creature of now. I want to know the outcome, see the future, get what I want- NOW.

Part of what God’s doing in my life lately is teaching me. Giving me opportunities: to wait.

Really, God? Do I actually need to practice waiting?

I have two very dear friends who I am praying for because they have loved ones who are very sick and may be on the verge of death. I want a full recovery for my friend’s mother and my other friend’s uncle. They are both “young” – in their 50’s.

My sweet new baby is having a few issues; which though not life-threatening still freaks me out a little bit. I am concerned about her health, and I want a diagnosis, prognosis and treatment regimen STAT. But I have been relegated to wait this weekend before getting test results back.

Maybe you too can relate to waiting. Perhaps there is something or someone you are waiting on. Know that you are not alone! I am waiting too. I am simultaneously waiting on my results for the baby, waiting to hear back about my friends and their loved ones, and waiting for the Lord Jesus to return so all pain and suffering comes to an end. God is teaching me to wait by allowing me opportunities to practice waiting. Here’s one of my favorite clips that helped me better understand that concept- thank you Morgan Freeman (in the movie Evan Almighty).Morgan Freeman

We are all waiting for that day when Jesus comes back. The day where sin and death cease to exist. The day when joy and peace are palpable because we are in the presence of the Almighty. And all is set right in creation.

In the meantime, there is a lot to do on this journey of life. I am trying to make sure that I don’t let too many moments pass me by while I wait. God help me to embrace the here and the now. Help me to understand that you are teaching me, shaping me and using me in the present moment. Help me Lord to embrace you when the waiting is too much to bear. And allow me to sing this song with conviction and through faith:

Strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord
As we wait upon the Lord
As we wait upon the Lord

Strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord
As we wait upon the Lord
As we wait upon the Lord

Our God, You reign forever
Our hope, Our strong deliverer

You are the everlasting God,
The everlasting God,
You do not faint, You won’t grow weary

You’re the defender of the weak
You comfort those in need,
You lift us up on wings like eagles” – Thanks Brenton Brown for these beautiful Lyrics

Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord”. Psalm 27:14

~Your sister in waiting~

Stacey

One thought on “Lady in Waiting

  1. I really enjoyed your honesty about waiting. This is a topic that is always relevant to at least 3 out of 10 people in a room, if not more 🙂 How blessed we are that God teaches us everything that we need for life and godliness!! I know that your waiting will bring many unforeseen gift into your life James 1:2-4

Leave a Reply

