God’s Paint Brush

It was a dark and stormy night…well not really. I just always wanted to begin a story with that line. Actually it was a clear sunny day.  I traveled back home a few weeks ago for a wedding and had the joy of experiencing the drive in the morning.  You see, usually that route takes place after work or later at night (yes, some of those were stormy) and I normally miss the scenery, but that Saturday I was blessed with a beautiful fall morning. I had listened to the Saturday rain falling around 3AM thinking, “Oh it’s going to be a wet, gray trip”, but [insert here “oh ye of little faith”] God had other plans. By the time the trunk was packed and I was on the road it was a: “This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Ps 118:24 day.  Fluffy white clouds, bottoms edged in gray dotted the bright blue sky as if they were painted on a canvass. Thank you Lord!  Autumn is my favorite time of year. What an absolute wash of color! I love the hues, not the bold vibrant New England colors (they are fine thank you), but I sigh in pleasure over the muted golds, the dusty browns, the greens not quite fading to yellow. The bronzes, caramels and russets of soybeans; the amber of the wheat and the splashes of red from the turning sumac were all fanned out in front of me as I headed west.

Gripping the wheel, I smiled and spoke out loud, “Thank you Lord for inventing color! You could have made everything like an Ansell Adams print, but you didn’t!” I thought how dark and dreary this world is when we don’t focus on the color before us; when we are weighed down by the burdens of each day and let them steal our joy.  There certainly are times when the “day-to-day” stuff can weigh us down. As Luci Swindol commented, “The problem with life is that it’s so “daily”.

So if you want to have a black and white day, you can.  I certainly have had my share. You know, Grumpy in Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, but take all that “black and white stuff” and give it to your Savior. Reference Matthew 11:28 “Come to me when you are tired and I will give you rest…” you see God wants you to see more!  Some days I may have to search with bifocals on, but if I stop, if I become still and block out the noise, the gray dissolves and the colors appear.  I see the colors in my Monday night bible study – those great times of sharing; in the smiles of those cousins at the recent wedding I attended. I experience a rainbow with every worship service, every time I open God’s word and read with a mug of coffee at hand. God gives me a myriad of hues in the seasons of my church family in their conversations and commitment.  I view all the shades and variations in my opportunities for service and giving.  Yes! God has painted this world [with colors to appreciate, to share and enjoy!

Blessings as you encourage others to view the colors in their life!

Doneta

Yellow

Leave a Reply

