A Different Calling

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. John 10:10

This verse is one that has brought me comfort over the years whenever I have faced trials, disappointments, and heartaches of many kinds.

Most recently this verse brought me comfort as I faced a crossroads in my professional career. The store that I was promoted to as a store manager, my first promotion of my career, closed. If I wanted to stay with the company, I would have to step down. It was heartbreaking. For the past three years I had poured my blood, sweat, and tears into that store. In a way, it felt like a death.

In this situation I had to decide what my next step was going to be. I could have gotten angry and moped about it for weeks and thrown myself a pity party. But isn’t that what Satan wants us to do when we face times of trial? He wants to steal our joy. He wants to take those things we value and destroy them.

Through those things that we face that challenge us, God comes to us and offers us something totally different. He offers us a reason to still have joy. Because no matter what difficult things we may face, it is never the end. Jesus overcame death and the grave so we may live our lives abundantly.

For me, the end of my career as a store manager with that company, was just the beginning of something new. God was calling me to look at my career differently, and allowed me to find a company where I am now able to spend more time with my family and develop deeper relationships with some amazing ladies I have met through church.

Whatever pain you may be facing today, hold onto this promise…God is inviting you to something deeper and greater with Him, and this not the end of your story. He is offering you life and joy through your pain.

In His grip,

Stacy

Leave a Reply

