Where are you?

On Thanksgiving Eve, I was able to take time to go to worship and be thankful for all of the blessings in my life. Our great vicar, Jim Haack, said something in his sermon that night that has stuck with me.

He was preaching about God’s view that we can’t grasp – that view of all eternity; the view of how all of the pieces of the puzzle fit together. And he started at the beginning with the story of creation. As he talked about Adam and Eve and their fall into sin, he noted something that I had never considered before in Genesis:

Then the man and his wife heard the sound of the Lord God as he was walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and they hid from the Lord God among the trees of the garden. But the Lord God called to the man, “Where are you?” (Genesis 3:8, 9 NIV)

God asked where they were. Why does an all-knowing God need to ask where his created are physically? He doesn’t. He was asking about them in relationship to him.

That hit me like a brick between the eyes. Has God been calling out for me, saying “Jen, where are you?”

In this season of advent, I am more focused on the Christmas presents that need to be purchased and the school events attended. I am focused on being there for family as my dad goes through surgery this week. I am all over the place. I’m not sure where I am. And I am definitely not giving my relationship with God the attention it deserves.

Guilty am I – as guilty as Adam and Even committing that first sin that tore apart their relationship with their Lord and separated them from their creator.

But the good news: God took the first step in repairing our relationship, and he didn’t have to. He sent his Son to die for us – to take our punishment. By doing that, the least I can do is focus on where I am.

Here are a few questions that I asked myself that you might want to ponder about where you are in your relationship with your creator and God:

  1. Am I praying when I first get up in the morning and turning my whole day and dealings over to God?
  2. Am I submitting to God’s leading or am I trying to wrestle away “control”?
  3. How much time am I spending in the Word?
  4. Do I pray regularly not only for my own needs but for those of others?
  5. Am I fully engaged in worship – or focused on appearances or traditions instead of on meeting The Lord and responding to his wonderful deeds?

As we draw closer to Christmas, I am going to keep asking the question – where am I? It will serve as a good reminder to have my physical location and my heart location be focused on the miracle and coming sacrifice that started in a stable on Christmas night.

God’s blessings –

Jen Clark

2 thoughts on “Where are you?

Leave a Reply

