Hello Hope

There’s something that just kind of clicked for me this year. Oddly enough I feel as though I have been missing other things regarding the Christmas season- I don’t necessarily feel the same warm Christmas-y feelings I always have growing up.

I do however feel- in the wake of finishing a busy semester and first couple months on a new job- something very new, very… hopeful.

We are waiting.

I get that it’s kind of a ‘duh’ statement to make during this advent season when we wait to celebrate the birth of Christ. We wait to celebrate the hope of the world to be fulfilled. But when Jesus left he promised he would come again.

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.” John 14:1-4, ESV

And I have this unmatchable hope and bothersome knot within me as I dust off this somewhat foundational thought as I being to relate to Mary, the mother of Jesus, in a whole new way. I am reminded that Jesus is coming back, that we are waiting for his return just as the Jews were waiting for their promised messiah.

What hope.

I also am pained in realizing my heart realistically was not been as faithfully preparing for his return. I am not one who idolizes or prays to Mary by any means, but I pray to Jesus that I might have a faith like Mary’s. One that abandons all of my own plans when God shows up- obedient, expectant, prepared.

May we all encourage each other towards that faith, and may we all rejoice in the hope that Jesus HAS come and that he will come again (Except this time he’s bringing a bigger bus so we can all go with him)!

Have a very merry Christmas,

Rachel Maurine

One thought on “Hello Hope

  1. What a powerful reminder. I was reading something the other day that Jesus said, he said that when he comes back it will be in the fullness of God’s Glory! I thought,”wow! What must the fullness of God’s Glory be like!” That thought made my whole day dazzling.

Leave a Reply

