You’re In My Heart; You’re In My Soul

attachment

What do A semi-colon,
Fortune favors the bold; and
Thy Word is a Lamp Unto my feet
have in common?
I’ve seen them all as tattoos.

I work in a high school. I am inquisitive. I’m also a people watcher. One morning I noticed a student had a semi-colon tattooed on her inner wrist. I asked her if it hurt getting that tattoo and why she’d have a semi-colon on her arm. She told me a period is the end; it’s the mark that shows the end of a sentence. A semi-colon notes a continuation. She then shared she had had a miscarriage six months ago which was not going to define her nor stop her from moving on in life, thus the semi-colon.

While proofreading a letter for my son, a sentence read, “Fortune favors the bold.” If you don’t take a risk, you’ll remain stagnant; you’ll wither; you’ll get rusty. When I researched this phrase, I discovered it’s a popular tattoo. Fortune certainly favors a bold Christian. Think of the Old Testament patriarchs and the New Testament disciples. The patriarchs exhibited boldness choosing to believe and follow an unseen God. The disciples chose to leave all they had to follow a gentle soul. The apostles risked their lives to spread God’s word throughout the world.

My daughter has her confirmation verse, Psalm 19:105, “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet” tattooed on her foot. Clever placement. Every time she takes a step God’s word is guiding her. I am not a tattoo fan, but this one makes some sense. Some may find tattoos offensive; perhaps even unChristian. Me, I think my God isn’t looking at how we adorn our bodies; He’s looking at what’s in our hearts and souls.

Luke 10:27 (NIV) He (Jesus) answered, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind and, love your neighbor as yourself.”

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

2 thoughts on “You’re In My Heart; You’re In My Soul

  1. Oh so good Jeanie. We all need to reminded that we are no defined by the world’s judgement and values, but our worth as God’s child who continues with us – semi colon to semi colon! Thank you. Doneta

Leave a Reply

