Counting on God

Please welcome my daughter as our guest author for today …  

As a 16 (almost 17!) year old girl, I have discovered the concept of impermanence. Flowers wilt, colors fade, and texts get deleted. I have also learned that there are several things in life that are very permanent and concrete facts:

  1. If I can’t find something, my mother can.
  2. My dad gives the best hugs.
  3. I will never know my exact bra size.
  4. Mornings suck.
  5. God is always here for me.

While failing to find the scarf that I wore last week may seem like a very pressing problem at certain moments, it is only that – a momentary problem. Asking my mother for help finding it is something that only occurs once (or twice…maybe more) times a week. The fact that my mother will find it will always be true, but the act itself is not continuous. The same goes for hugs, bra shopping, and getting out of bed. Counting on God, however, is something that I can do 24/7. God is always there and always finds me when I’m lost, hugs me when I’m down, knows everything about me, and helps me drag my booty out of bed at the crack of dawn.

Being a junior in high school is not easy. I have to manage a busy schedule with club meetings, sports, and community service, keep up with the mountains of seemingly meaningless homework assigned every evening, and start the long and treacherous journey of searching for colleges. Sometimes I can feel extremely overwhelmed and suffocated, but then I remember that everything I do is a part of God’s plan for me. I can always count on him to know what he is doing.

In John 16:33, Jesus says “I have told you these things so that you can have peace in me. In this world you will have trouble, but be brave! I have defeated the world.” God knows that we all feel suffocated every once in a while. He knows that things don’t always go our way, and He knows that it’s hard to find peace in this world. But even though we don’t have the world resting in the palm of our hand, we can always look to and count on the one who does.

If you have never looked for a college to go to, let me just tell you that it is very S T R E S S F U L. Asking myself the question ‘what do I want to do for the rest of my life and where do I want to learn how to do it?’ is extremely frightening. Sometimes I can’t even mentally handle the process, and I just sit and stare at a wall instead (which is probably not very productive). Lately, though, I’ve really been asking God where I am supposed to go and what he wants me to do. I’ve been leaning on him during this difficult task and He has started guiding me in a certain direction. The song Oceans (where feet may fail) by Hillsong United really speaks to me about this issue. “Spirit, lead me where my trust is without borders. Let me walk upon the waters wherever you would call me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander, and my faith will be made stronger in the presence of my savior.” This song, to me, brings a message of hope and faith that God will always be there to guide us, even if we are scared or hesitant to do what he has planned.

I mentioned before that counting on God is the only continuously constant thing I know. God is consistently here for me and everyone else in the world. We can always talk to him, sing to him, love him, and even (if you feel that it’s necessary) yell at him. His love is infinite and continuous and sinks deep into all of our souls. I think that it’s so amazing that God is always talking to me and wants to listen to me as well. He is the epitome of a best friend. We can pray to him whenever we want to, and he will constantly be listening to us.

So as you go through your day, week, month, year, and life, just remember that God is always there for you. No matter how dark and hopeless your situation may seem, God loves everyone, even the ‘lost causes’ and the ‘outcasts.’ His love never fails and endures forever. Even if God isn’t a constant thing in your life, you are still a constant thing in His, and he will never give up on you.

Counting on Him,

Jordan Newsom

2 thoughts on “Counting on God

  1. Jordan, thank you for the reminder that our Emmanuel is there always! For the mornings that suck…try memorizing this verse from Psalm 59:16. “In the morning I will sing of your strength; in the morning I will sing of your love for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble.” It helps me to turn the day over to my God (who’s in charge anyway). Blessings, Doneta

  2. Reblogged this on Beautiful Savior, Beautiful Women and commented:

    As I sat here halfway through my Monday realizing I failed to write my blog for today, I panicked. But then I did just what every great blogger does and went searching for what I posted about this time last year. Remarkably, it was this post that made me smile that my daughter had written. Even when I fail, at little things like blog posting or things much bigger, I can count on God. Happy Monday! ~ Dina Newsom

Leave a Reply

