Plans

Proverbs 16:1-3 To the man belong the plans of the heart, but from the Lord comes the reply of the tongue.  All a man’s ways seem innocent to him, but motives are weighed by the Lord. Commit to the Lord whatever you do and your plans will succeed.

Plans. I like to have them. I like to make them. I do not always follow through on them. Sometimes I make them and then I kick myself for making them. Sometimes I make them, follow through on them and feel so enriched by them. I hope someone out there can relate to me.

I have become better about limiting myself to saying ‘yes’ to an event only when I can handle it emotionally, mentally and physically (previously, if the schedule was open-even a little- I would say ‘yes’). cumbly plan

When God calls for a change in my plans, I often frown. “But those plans were mine, I made them myself. How dare you ask me to change them?” Yeah, that’s often my self-centered reaction for God.

I’m afraid it’s pretty lame. The Creator of the universe and Author of my personal story is asking me or telling me to alter my plans and I scoff? Perhaps there are times when this hurts so much, I can scarcely feel God’s love through my pain. But we are reminded by Paul in Romans (8:28) “And we know that all things work together for good for those who love God, who are called according to his purpose,” and in the Prophet Jeremiah was given these words from God “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.” (29:11-12)

Lord, help me to see a change in plans differently. Help me to look at them as an opportunity to serve you. May I change my heart toward those around me; but mostly, Lord, may I change my heart toward you. Make me willing to follow, and grateful for an opportunity to tune into what you are doing. Help me to come to you when I hurt or ache for plans I made that didn’t come to fruition. Help me to turn to you first and to wise others around me to gain new insights and perspectives as you direct my life in bigger and better ways than I possibly could. AMEN

Your sister who is trying to Trust in the Lord for all my plans,

Stacey

Leave a Reply

