Out of my comfort zone

Wow! It has been an interesting week for me. One of those weeks where I saw a need and began to pray that God would meet that need. I just did not expect the way that God was going to answer my prayer and meet that need.

Before I go on any further, I should back up and fill everyone in on something first. About a year and a half ago my husband and I began attending a small group led by Jim Haack. We have been going through the book Crazy Love by Francis Chan. (For those who have not read it, I highly recommend it!) About this time last year we went through a chapter on what God may be calling us to do, and take a risk and follow Him. Following that particular study, I felt the urge to begin to pursue a path back into ministry.

For those that don’t know, I am a DCE. I graduated from Concordia in Seward in 2006. I did my internship at a church and camp in Minnesota, and following internship deferred on the call process and moved back home due to some family issues. Since that time I have been working in retail! I love my job and what I do, but there is a part of me that wants to do more. To give more.

Fast forward to last week. I reached out to Josh, our amazing youth guy, to see what things were currently happening with the college ministry program here at church. My brother-in-law is a freshmen at UNO, and I was just curious what things we had going on for him to get plugged into. Let’s just say our Facebook exchange led to meeting for coffee and learning about an opportunity to serve.

I left that coffee meeting feeling slightly, no, pretty overwhelmed! I debated all weekend in my head on whether I should jump in and lead this ministry, or if I should just volunteer to help out, or pray that Josh would find someone else.

During this time Satan creeped in and began to whisper lies to me. “You’ve tried to get back into ministry before and look where you still are.” Or. “You work full-time, where will you find the time to do this.” Or. ” you will be alone in this, no one shares your desire.”

It was an agonizing decision to make, and it kept me up in prayer a few nights last week. I didn’t really have a clear answer on what direction God wanted me to take. I need a clear answer.

I got that answer at church on Sunday morning. Sitting, listening to Pastor Keith preach, I felt like God was speaking directly to me. I got my answer!

SO, there I stood at the top of the stairs, yelling at Josh with my arms open, “I’ll do it!”

So I am now coordinating the small groups for college aged students and organizing opportunities for fellowship as well!

I share this story with you for a couple of reasons:

1. Because for some of you God has laid a desire on your heart to serve Him in a way you never have before, and that can be very scary! Anything that is new and pushes us out of our comfort zone can be scary! It’s not always easy to jump in and follow God, because we know when we do that, life as we know it will change. That is on my mind right now. I wonder how I will find the time to balance it all. I am trusting God with the time piece, knowing that it will all workout and there will be a blessing in ten fold with the time I am willing to give.

2. This ministry needs your support and prayers. We have quite a large number of college students that either are members attending colleges not in omaha, or students living here in Omaha and attending our services. It is my desire for our church to reach out to both of those groups and provide support and encouragement during this stage of their lives.

If you would like to get involved with college ministry, please reach out to me! This is all new to me and I welcome any prayers, help, and support I can get!

Blessings!

Stacy

2 thoughts on “Out of my comfort zone

  1. Thank you. Thank you. I identify with the doubts, excuses, misgivings and am going through part of that now where God is asking me to step out of my comfort zone. So when the last sermon of the series was on resistance I knew God was talking and I needed to listen. Thank you for sharing – my prayers are with you!
    Doneta

Leave a Reply

