The body of Christ at work

Just when you think you have everything figured out. Bam! God challenges you and changes things up. These changes can help us grow in our faith, if we let them. However, sometimes the difficulty can seem never-ending. That’s when I pick up the phone and text a friend. (Haha! Okay, in reality I texted this friend with the intent to talk; however, she had lost her voice, so we texted at length and then talked the next day.) My friend stated, “It sounds as though you are being oppressed by the enemy.” She gave me several Bible verses to look up, and suggested I check with another of my friends to see if she had other recommendations.

I looked up the verses and read them, and then called my friend the next day. Thankfully, this good friend (who lives far away) was home and able to talk and pray. You see, she has been going through her own seemingly never-ending struggle. However, I sense that she has been standing (Ephesians 6:13 “Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.”) and I have not; at least, not so well.

But God is Bibleso good! He reminded me through her words how I might be better able to put on the full armor of God and stand. She shared with me that while in the hospital and then rehab facility with her daughter recently, she began to write down encouraging Bible verses. Then she took it a step further and started to read them every day out loud, whether she felt like it or not, no matter where she was, trusting in God’s Word and His promises for good and not harm. (Romans 8:28)

I sensed God telling me that I needed to be using the Sword (God’s Word, the Bible–see Ephesians 6) regularly. Not just reading it, but declaring it!  This was just confirmation of what God had been telling me to do.

So, I got out my paper and pencil and began writing. And then reading. Out loud. I will continue to write more as I find other verses. I plan to declare to the enemy and anyone else who will listen that my God is able and He is on my side. He is faithful, and His love for me is never-ending. (The enemy had me believing this struggle would be never-ending.  News flash! God is greater and His purposes are for good, not for harm.)

Whatever your struggle is today, know that God has indeed equipped you with everything you need to stand. And if, like me, you get bogged down in the negativity and never-ending-ness of it all, text (or call, if your voice is strong) a good friend who knows God’s ways. That, my friends, is why the body of Christ is so important. Each of us who are Jesus-followers are used by Him to be His body here on earth, whether we realize it or not. Be encouraged; you are His hands, feet, mouth, ears, eyes. Who is He directing you to this day?

Standing with you, my beautiful friends!

Jeanne

One thought on “The body of Christ at work

Leave a Reply

