1 Father + 1 Son + 1 Holy Spirit = the Holy Trinity

holyspirit2One Father + One Savior + One Holy Spirit = the Holy Trinity.

I picture my Heavenly Father similar to the Greek mythological Zeus. He’s large and in charge. He created the world and was smart enough to rest when that task was finished. He’s got that whole world in His hands. He gave me a Savior to save me and He’s waiting for me to come see Him.

I think of Jesus as a Biblical quarterback or point guard. He is the ultimate leader – the go-to-player. He’s passionate; he’s focused and He is the son with whom His Father is well pleased. He sacrificed His earthly body for my sins. He died on a cross for me….me.

So what’s the big deal?

I can’t figure out the Holy Spirit. Back in my Sunday school days I was really confused. holyspirit2We called the Third Member of the Trinity the Holy Ghost. Is Holy Ghost an oxymoron? How can a ghost be holy? The fact that Jesus was conceived by the Holy Ghost boggles my mind.

And yet the Holy Ghost may perform the most important function within the Trinity. If you believe in God the Father and God the Son, but don’t let the Holy Spirit in you, what’s that do to the equation of the Holy Trinity? Perhaps the beauty of the Holy Spirit is I can’t define or picture this Deity. My Christian faith is all I need to appreciate and believe in this Triune member.

I think I’ll email Pastor Keith. I need a sermon series The Holy Spirit, Unsung Hero
preached at and to me.

NEXT WEEK’S BLOG FEATURES PASTOR’S RESPONSE
TO MY CONFUSION.

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

3 thoughts on “1 Father + 1 Son + 1 Holy Spirit = the Holy Trinity

Leave a Reply

