Messy

I am encouraged tonight by the last part of Paul’s first letter to the Thessalonians. In his farewell (verses 12 through 28) Paul packs a lot in a paragraph. The majority of the middle is what really catches my heart tonight.

And we urge you, brothers, admonish the idle, encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with them all. See that no one repays anyone evil for evil, but always seek to do good to one another and to everyone. Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. Do not quench the Spirit. Do not despise prophecies, but test everything; hold fast what is good. Abstain from every form of evil.

Now may the God of peace himself sanctify you completely, and may your whole spirit and soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. He who calls you is faithful; he will surely do it. (1 Thessalonians 5:14-24, ESV)

Can I be honest?? I am fainthearted tonight. Life is just messy right now. I find myself saying that a whole bunch lately. But it’s true, and today it just got a whole lot messier. I had been powering through on about 3 hours of sleep today and right in the middle I received news that was quite devastating.

I found myself just standing in front of all the stress, the heartbreak, the sleeplessness, the messiness, and the devastation I was facing and I couldn’t do anything I was overwhelmed, I broke down.

My heart is so grateful though. It’s like the devastation is shining a whole new light on all of God’s blessings.

I wanted to list off some of these gifts I am grateful for today.

I am grateful for my encouraging friend Laura who gave me such a sweet loving word of comfort on Monday.

I am grateful for a professor who stops me in the hallway0 mind you I have never even taken a course form him- and He prays for me in all of my mess.

I am grateful for my Mom who surrounds me with her love and my Dad who gave me the most comforting hug tonight.

I am grateful for a job where I get to work with some super great people (please excuse the lame adjectives but it’s so late.. and I don’t know where all my adjectives went 😉

I am grateful for a God who points me towards his steadfast love and mercy when all I want to do is be angry and bitter.

I am grateful for tears…

Life is messy, I am a mess, but God- He is sovereign over it all.

Thank you for reading today. I apologize if my blogs seem completely off –the-cuff but they totally are J. I think that God does that on purpose most of the time!!

Until next week,

Rachel Maurine

2 thoughts on “Messy

Leave a Reply

