Oh be careful little eyes what you watch…

Being a mother of four young-uns means many things. For me it means teaching self-sufficiency at a young age because I don’t have time to wipe every nose (or butt) or tie every shoelace or turn on every device known to the under ten crowd. It means strategizing dinner plans, playdates, shopping trips, and doctor visits- for the least number of times in and out of the car with the fewest number of kids. It means lots of love, hugs and kisses, right alongside lots of shouting and fighting and rambunctious play.

It also means I don’t go out in the evenings much with my husband. We sometimes do little projects around the house or play a game or watch a movie or just plain old go to sleep after the kids are down.

A few weeks ago we watched a movie called “Parker”. It’s an action-packed, crime-thriller type movie. I usually really enjoy these movies. The movie, in and of itself, was not great- but not terrible either. However, my response to it was akin to the following, “Geesh, did I just waste two hours of my life on that?”

I have come to understand this sentiment as God calling me to a closer relationship with Him. For the Lenten season, I am fasting from movies. I will find a different way to relax and unwind. For the time being, I will resist the temptation to put things into my mind that, albeit entertaining, are not uplifting or encouraging. Instead, God is calling me to use my time to get into the word more. To read a few books by Christian authors on subjects that truly matter to me.

This scripture is the one I found myself pondering after I watched “Parker”.. Philippians 4:8- And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.  (NLT) God can and will use His Word in my life (and yours too) to bring about a change for the better.

There’s a little song I heard when I was a kid in Sunday school: “Oh be careful little eyes what you see” God is bringing about new meaning to this little ditty in my life through these words of Scripture: Your eye is the lamp of your body. When your eyes are healthy, your whole body also is full of light. But when they are unhealthy, your body also is full of darkness. Luke 11:34 (NIV) Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you. Phillippians 4:9 (NIV). I plan to cling to these words throughout my Lenten Journey.

Lord Jesus, You fasted in the wilderness for 40 days & you resisted the most intense temptations – for me. Please help me thing of the things that are true, right and lovely during this Lenten journey. Help me boldly to keep my eyes healthy and full of light. Focusing on what you have already done for me on the cross is going to get me through this fast. With the help of the Holy Spirit, let the slow fade end here. Amen.

Your sister in Christ,

Stacey

PS- Check out Casting Crowns’ Slow Fade Image

2 thoughts on “Oh be careful little eyes what you watch…

  1. So true….was thinking about Slow Fade myself. As parents, we need to be the example of only looking at those things that are “praiseworthy” to show our kids. Thanks for the thoughts!

    • Thank you, Jen. Yeah, I just felt like that’s what God was convicting me of lately. I have been upset about what Andrew is watching & realized that my greatest influence in that realm is not my words, but rather my actions.

Leave a Reply

