Just smile!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  There is a lot of misconstrued notions of the reason for celebrating St. Patrick’s Day, and since my maiden name is O’Brien and my blog day happened to land right on the 17th, I considered writing about this holiday.  However, then I thought – boooorrrrring!  I’ve never been a history buff.  You can find all that with some quick clicks on Google or even Jim Haack’s Facebook page.  This day now mostly seems to be about having a good time, so I thought that’s just what we’d do.  Just smile.

I have a six year old son who just happens to be the funniest child I know.  (And that’s saying a lot since I work with children.)  He is constantly saying silly things throughout the day – or sometimes extremely insightful things – that I, in the business of being a mother simply forget about by the day’s end.  So I started putting the things he says on my Facebook page.  It’s easy to take a moment and grab my phone when something happens and type it in – not so easy to remember what I laughed about six hours later when 500 other things have happened since.  It started as a way to tell my family what he said.  But it has turned into a connection that many of my Facebook friends repeatedly tell me they enjoy reading about.  And some keep asking when I’m going to put them all in a book.  So, today, when I just wanted to smile, I thought I’d share some of my favorites with you all.smile

CJ: Can I have one of those ring pop candies?
Me: No, they are for special occasions.
CJ: I’m a special occasion.

Scene: Christian enters room limping.
Me: Why are you limping?
CJ: Because I’m practicing.
Me: Practicing what?
CJ: Limping.

Me: You need to clean up these toys.
CJ: Why do I have to?
Me: Because the Mommy says so.
CJ: But Daddy’s in charge!

In the car on the way home …
CJ: Hurry up stoplight – I have to go potty! Sheesh!

CJ: I can carry that bag, Momma.
Me: I’m not sure you can – it’s pretty heavy.
CJ: I been working out.

CJ: My tummy hurts.
Me: You should lay down and rest to feel better.
CJ: My tummy says playing the Wii will make it feel better.
Me: Your tummy is wrong.
CJ: Now my tummy’s feelings are hurt, too.

CJ: I’m hungry.
Me: You just ate.
CJ: That was a whole … (pause while he’s thinking) … ten minutes ago!
Me: I think you just think you’re hungry ’cause you’re bored.
CJ: I’m not bored!
(roughly thirty seconds later)
CJ: Mom, I’m bored. But I’m still hungry, too.

CJ: Can I have some jellybeans before bed?
Me: You can have about five jellybeans.
CJ: Well how many is that?
Me: Five.
(He nods and runs off … a few minutes later…)
CJ: Did you say six jellybeans?
Me: No, I said five.
CJ: Uh oh …

While crashing into things on a video game …
CJ: I told you – my heart says I’m not gonna be a good driver when I turn 16.

I overslept just enough this morning that I was ‘hurrying’ my son along in getting ready for school …
CJ: Mom, I’m going as fast as I can.
Me: Well, we need to go quickly because Mommy slept too long.
CJ: Yeah, but how is that my problem?

Me: Whatcha doing?
CJ: Putting a sign up so people knock on my door.
Me: But you never shut your door.
CJ: (long pause) Well I will today.

Today in church when Communion was starting …
CJ: Is that real blood that you drink when you go up there or is it just red drink?

The other day CJ and I were discussing Easter – it was a deep discussion for a 6 year old about how Jesus died on the cross because of all our sins.
CJ: So it’s like I put Jesus on the cross?
Me: Yes, and so did I and Daddy and everyone we know.
CJ: So, what about that parallel pilot guy?
Me: What? Who are you talking about?
CJ: That guy that ordered Jesus dead.
Me: Oh, you mean Pontius Pilate?
CJ: Yeah, him.
(Pontius Pilate is apparently a straight flyer.)

This morning, as CJ is still groggy …
Me: Do you want to come to Sunday School with me?
CJ: Yeah, well … are we gonna learn about Jesus?
Me: Yeah, probably.
CJ: Maybe you should take someone else cuz I already know him.

There are some moments, as a mother, that just have no words. Christian walked into my room this morning banging his fists on his chest like Tarzan.
Me: Doesn’t that hurt?
CJ: Nah. (pause, worried look on his face) Does it hurt God?
Me: Why would it hurt God?
CJ: Because He lives inside me.

God does live inside my son.  He also lives in you.  So take a moment today and find something He has put in your life that makes you smile.  And savor it.  Then share it.

Smiling and savoring,

Dina Newsom

One thought on “Just smile!

Leave a Reply

