Feeling Attacked? Fight Back!

sword of the spirit

In the two weeks since I last wrote, I have experienced some highs and lows. I’m not sure where to begin, but will start with these words: serving God.

I was told recently that when you are in a position of serving God, it makes satan pretty angry. Because I have been serving the Lord through our church and work, I have come under fire.

I thought I had prepared myself for this fight. I knew I had to be strong, but didn’t realize how strong. I’ve been told many times to pick up my sword daily and be strong in the Lord. Instead, I dropped my weapon and didn’t pick it back up. This is why I am writing to you today.

God has called me to be part of several ministries which include working with youth and women. On a recent Thursday night my life changed. I can’t give you the details of what happened as it is someone else’s story to tell, but because I am a mentor to this person it affected me deeply. For the next few days, my emotions were raw and out of control. I was weepy and exhausted.

I knew I had a meeting to go to, but I didn’t want to cancel as it was important for me to attend. Instead of surrendering my feelings to God and taking time away from everything, I ended up using my tongue  and lashed out at several people that I deeply care for. That wasn’t like the “normal” me at all. I can usually talk to God and get the feelings settled down. This time I knew who was in control; it wasn’t me or God…

In the past I had learned how to protect myself, and I should have done so that day. Each morning after you wake up and put on your slippers, it is good to put on the armor of God. Ephesians 6:10-17 says:

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.  For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.  Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.”

Before your feet hit the ground each day, put on the belt of truth, your breast plate, get your shield ready, put the helmet of salvation over your bed head and lastly open up your Bible. The word of God will help protect you from the attacks the enemy has planned for you.

When you buy a new car, you may get some type of protection plan. You wax your car, you vacuum it and make sure there aren’t any dents in it. You may get it protected from the elements by putting on an undercoat and a sealant. Your mind and heart are another story. You listen to negativity, you begin to think bad thoughts and use your tongue to destroy.

After my “Thursday experience,” I decided to subscribe to a protection plan—a devotion plan on my phone’s Bible app. Each day there is a reminder to read the devotion and also gives Bible verses that are connected to it.

Recently, my husband Scott wrote a blog about this same topic titled “Putting on the Armor“. He is the president of our congregation and because of his service he, too, comes under attack. Just remember: Protect yourself with the ultimate protection plan, God’s Word. You won’t ever regret it.

In Christ,

Carey Oswald

3 thoughts on “Feeling Attacked? Fight Back!

  1. When we wage war Satan uses all weapons at his disposal. When he attacks with fire we cannot use a wimpy squirt gun to put out the flames. Thank you for the reminder of the power of God’s word – our best weapon and first line of defense! Blessings and strength to you sister.

Leave a Reply

