Questions About Grace

I have been wrestling with grace in such a way that it’s almost a grace or guilt situation. Let me elaborate ever so slightly. I feel this guilt if I do not extend what I guess we would call grace.

I am almost wondering if I have been bullied in to thinking that this thing I have been calling grace is really just a sad excuse for the real thing. It’s just a broom and a dustpan to sweep all of the crud under the rug. Well… that’s not grace is it?

I find myself praying for grace all of the time. I did it in the car on the way to a meeting I had this evening actually. And the thought crossed my head (as it usually does when I pray for grace) “am I responding to people with this grace I am begging for?”

The answer is no. And I of course have a situation or two in mind when I say that.

I have been trying not to respond in anger- I have been silent more then anything. But I really have been asking in these situations (after I have had time to pout) Lord, honestly what do I do??

And I hear grace, and I think but how? And my goodness help me cause That’s not happening by my own strength.

 

I want to be like Jesus. I want to give grace. But when I think of his grace I think of redemption, not repression.

 

Some verses to meditate on about grace;

 

And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth. (John 1:14 ESV)

 

Now the law came in to increase the trespass, but where sin increased, grace abounded all the more, so that, as sin reigned in death, grace also might reign through righteousness leading to eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. (Romans 5:20-21 ESV)

 

For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people,(Titus 2:11 ESV)

 

But as you excel in everything—in faith, in speech, in knowledge, in all earnestness, and in our love for you—see that you excel in this act of grace also. (2 Corinthians 8:7 ESV)

 

How do you extend grace in those times where, in your flesh, you want to respond in anger and bitterness?

 

I love how Paul often began or ended his letters with an extending of grace. May God give us the grace to walk out the rest if this week, the strength to extend that grace to other, and the wisdom to know what that looks like. Please Lord.

 

Until nest week,

Rachel Maurine

 

One thought on “Questions About Grace

  1. Rachel – what inspired thoughts you shared! I was thinking of the “amazing-ness” of grace last night at church when we sang Hillsong’s Scandal of Grace –

    The day and its trouble shall come
    I know that Your strength is enough
    The scandal of grace, You died in my place
    So my soul will live

    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

