On Wings like Eagles

Eagle3

Grandson Ben and the Decorah eagle

A few weeks ago, I became aware of a very interesting website. You might have seen it; millions have. As a birder and one who is very interested in nature and wildlife, I can’t believe I haven’t been introduced to it before. The website? http://www.ustream.tv/decoraheagles.

I recently became aware of this site through facebook. Much to my chagrin, I had yet to watch the live streaming video of the beautiful bald eagles sitting on their nest high in a tree above Decorah, Iowa. Way back in 2011, ABC News reported that the cameras had been in place since 2010. 11 millions viewers had seen the eggs hatch that year. I wonder how I missed the memo back then.

Well, now I’m hooked. I’ve told my (grown) children about the eagles. I’ve shown the eagles’ ustream video feed to two of my grandchildren (two of them are not of the tv-watching age yet; especially the little girl that was just born on March 9th). I’ve mentioned this amazing site to all of my friends. And please don’t tell my boss, but I have been known to have Ustream Decorah eagles running in my computer’s background via Firefox, just listening to the sounds of the  birds, waiting to see if I should click over to check out the action. Are the mom and dad taking turns now on the nest? Is that the dad I hear landing? Are they rotating the eggs? You might think I’ve lost it. (I often wonder the same.) But then, if I have lost it, then so have millions of other people.

A few weeks ago, snow was falling heavily on the nest, and the temperature was well below zero. It was late at night, and I thought I would check in to see how the birds were holding up in the snowstorm high in their tree. The camera was running, (it’s on 24/7), and there was mama eagle, laid out flat over her precious eggs. From head to tail she was covered with the ice-cold precipitation. All I  really could see was her outline in the snow. Her head was laying flat on the nest, giving the impression that she was doing all she could to protect her offspring. This image impacted me greatly as I began to see some similarities between the eagle’s devotion to her soon-to-be little ones and our heavenly Father’s love and sacrifice for us, His children.

I’m watching Mama snuggle in tonight, arranging and rearranging the nest around her, standing over her eggs and gently, oh so gently pulling them on top of her feet so that her body completely surrounds them. And I can’t help but remember how my Father cares for me gently, oh so gently. He protects me. He keeps me safe. He’s my refuge in times of trouble. He helps me fly. I looked up some verses, some God-promises, that have to do with eagles/birds that I’d like to share with you. Perhaps you might like to take a quick peek at the eagle parents as they carefully care for their soon-to-be eaglets. Then, with this real-time picture in your mind, let God’s Word wash over you and strengthen your spirit this day.

Psalm 91:4 He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.
Exodus 19:4 You yourselves have seen what I did to Egypt, and how I carried you on eagles’ wings and brought you to myself.
Psalm 36:7 How priceless is your unfailing love, O God!  People take refuge in the shadow of your wings.
Psalm 57:1 Have mercy on me, my God, have mercy on me, for in you I take refuge. I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings until the disaster has passed.
Psalm 61:4 I long to dwell in your tent forever and take refuge in the shelter of your wings.
Psalm 63:7 Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings.
Isaiah 40:31 but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Exodus 19:4 You yourselves have seen what I did to Egypt, and how I carried you on eagles’ wings and brought you to myself.
Deuteronomy 32:10-11 He shielded him and cared for him; he guarded him as the apple of his eye, like an eagle that stirs up its nest and hovers over its young, that spreads its wings to catch them and carries them aloft.
Psalm 103:5
who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

It seems I need to be constantly reminded of God’s nearness and love for me. Although the eagle can be a wonderful picture of God’s love, the most powerful picture of all is that of His Son, Jesus, sacrificing His life for me, God’s child. He took my place. He stood in for me when I should have taken the rap. It’s because of Jesus that I can feel the Father’s comfort and peace in the midst of any and every situation. God’s promise to me is real: He satisfies my desires with good things, and renews my strength like that of the mighty eagle. That promise and all of the other promises recorded in His book are for you, too.

May God bless you, my friends! Happy spring!

Jeanne

Leave a Reply

