Stacey and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Lies

The Lies: You are such a mess. Your house is messy. You are disorganized. You don’t do things on time. You are a failure at being a wife. You are a failure at being a friend. You are a failure at being a mother. You are crazy. You are not smart enough. You are not capable enough. You are not worthy of respect, responsibility, love.

The truth is… the truth is there is some truth to these statements. Half truth. Is it helpful for me to dwell on that? No. Does Satan want to keep these lies in front of me at all times? Yes.

So what am I gonna do?

Honestly, When I am battle weary, when I have been screamed at by my kids for the umpteenth time today, when I have run out of soap and toilet paper and chocolate and the dog is whining for some unknown reason—I just want to run away. I want to move to Australia. Australia holds the sweet promise of different. And at this point, different must be better… right?

In Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst, we meet a kid who is having an awful day. It seems I can relate (too often). It’s so bad that our poor protagonist continually toys with the idea of moving to Australia. At the end of the book (children’s book spoiler alert) Alexander ponders the wisdom shared by his mother, “Some days are like that. Even in Australia.”

Um, Stacey, I think you forgot to connect your thoughts… better bring this thing around or the ‘you are crazy’ truth may stick.

Why am I drawn to Alexander and his terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day? I have days, human days, ugly days, when I just want to throw a tantrum. When I feel like I somehow deserve better out of the world. Days when no matter how hard my mind tries to counter the aforementioned lies, the grains of truth are the only things I cling to (the most confusing lies are the ones that hold some measure of truth).

Back to the question at hand… what am I gonna do?

First, I’m going to admit and accept the ‘grains of truth’ in those lies. Satan- I hear what you are calling me out on—I admit, I fall short, I am NOT PERFECT.

Second, I’m going to remember my baptism. Heavenly Father, you created me, you know me – in all my sin and weakness—and by the sacrifice of the cross, you have washed me clean of those sins. You love me anyway and that’s a miracle.

Third, I’m asking for YOUR help. Friends, Family and my Dear Readers- please don’t let me off the hook for my sins. I am culpable. But please do remind me (daily or momently) that I am forgiven. That God’s amazing grace is ENOUGH – so I don’t have to be.  And when I, like Alexander, seem to be having one of those days, show me this scripture to remind me of how I may be better off behaving instead:  Always be joyful. Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus. (1 Thes 5:16-18 Message).

Thank you, Precious Jesus, for the life you give through the life you gave up. Amen!!

Humbly and Truthfully,

Stacey

 

 

One thought on “Stacey and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Lies

  1. Stacey, C.S. Lewis once said, “The great thing to remember is that, though our feelings come and go, His love for us does not.” God’s love and grace are truly amazing. Thank you for your honesty. I am there with you.

Leave a Reply

