Breaking into Dance

Have you ever seen a dog break dance? It really is a humorous sight. My dog, Coconut, break dances when she is excited, usually when someone comes over to our house or our family returns home after an absence. We have to chuckle as we watch all 11 pounds of her furry white body writhing on the ground, twisting and turning as if to some rock song only she can hear. Her movements say, “Yay! You are here! Pure joy!”

Sometimes I wish I could break dance alongside her. In fact, I wish I could break dance right now out of the joy of being able to spend time with you, the joy of this journey we are on together. Alas, though, my 46-year-old body is not as nimble as it once was. I would probably end in traction if I tried break dancing.
Does anything make you want to break dance? Maybe your child does something that makes you proud. Maybe you received a compliment from your boss, or got the promotion you so badly wanted. Maybe you will want to break dance when that first flower blooms this spring.

Dancing

Or maybe not. Maybe you feel there is nothing to break dance about. Maybe you are in pain, depressed, or anxious. Maybe your finances are crumbling or you lost your job. Maybe you are in the midst of divorce or your child is rebelling. Whatever the case, break dancing is the furthest thing from your mind. I have had times like those too.

Yet, whatever state I am in, wanting to break dance because life is great or living low because things are not going so well, there is something to break dance about. Hebrews 13: 5 says, “…God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.’” While I may not break dance like Coconut, I can break into dance knowing that I am in God’s presence, knowing that he loves me and will never leave me. Just as it is pure joy for Coconut when she is in my family’s presence, so it is pure joy to be in the presence of God.

Psalm 89:15 says, “Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim you, who walk in the light of your presence, O Lord.” And Psalm 4:6 -7 says, “…Let the light of your face shine upon us, O Lord. You have filled my heart with greater joy than when grain and new wine abound.” We are blessed when we are in God’s presence, when the light of his face shines upon us. We can say, “Yay! You are here! Pure joy!”

Knowing I am in the presence of the eternal, glorious, all loving God, I want even more to break into dance. Will you dance with me?

Leave a Reply

