The Label on the Tag

I am blessed to be part of a little group of kid clothing up-cyclers. Often, clothes have been passed down without a label, but I was pondering my labeling system. I was wondering if I should put and APS on the tags for my son (since there are 3 children with initials A.S. in our group), or if I should put my initials on them (SS).

In that moment, my laundry perspective changed. The clothing my children wear is mine. I can put my initials on the clothes, because I buy them, clean them, put them away and sometimes even pick them out on a given day. My kids wear what I supply them. They don’t have the means (not yet, anyway) to make or purchase their own garments.  They get what I give them- and it’s often a case of “mom knows best”- like it or not.

Ok, so most normal people intrinsically know this about little kids and clothes. With this Holy Week revelation – and especially with Easter on our minds—I am reminded how God is our “mom knows best” garment-giver. He supplies us with different clothing items: a talent for art or for solving puzzles or for comforting the hurting; a voice to sing his praise, hands to do his labor, a mind ready to learn his Word. And we get to decide to what to put on when. Paul describes it this way: So in Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith, for all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ. Galatinas 3: 26-27 NIV.

Even more striking than the talents bestowed upon us: the dazzling new white robe of ‘Freedom from Sin’. I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels. -Isaiah 61:10. This new covering is the most beautiful, most lavish, most expensive gift that could possibly be offered to us. It cost an innocent man his life, and a perfect father his only son. Read this out loud (I dare you):  And yet,  the dazzling robe of grace is for you [say your name]. So that you can be reunited with the God of the universe- who loves you, [say your name], and knows you personally and intimately.

Thank you Heavenly Dad, for your initials on the back of my white robe! Make me aware of your initials on all my ‘clothes’  as I seek to live out the grace you have so freely offered to such an undeserving human,

Stacey

You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy, that I might sing praises to you and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give you thanks forever! -Psalm 30:11-12

Leave a Reply

