I have something to admit to those of you reading this blog today: I am a mess! This morning, Tuesday the 22nd, my daughter is going in to get tubes put into her ears.  Now, I know this is a routine procedure, and lots of kids have them in and have no problems with them, but this small and routine procedure has me in a tailspin.  In my head I have played every “what if” scenario over and over in my head.  What if she has an adverse reaction to the anesthesia? What if they don’t work? Or what if the worst thing happens and she codes?

I am not a worry-wart by nature, but there is just something about being a mother and wanting to make sure my girl is safe and being so not in control of the situation that has me on edge.  On top of all of this, I am coming off of taking my husband to the ER for dislocating his shoulder in his sleep on Tuesday last week, and training a new manager at work, and working a crazy weekend at work, so needless to say I am exhausted.  The anxiety has me on edge, and my energy seems to be spent on all the events from last week.

In addition to this, I am in this, let’s get prepared mode for Ellie’s surgery.  I want to spend the whole day with her, so I am getting caught up in all of the housework and laundry from last week, and preparing a crock-pot meal so I can cuddle as much as I need to. In all of my preparations though and anxiety, I wonder if I am missing something.

I am not the only one though who has missed something, or is missing something. Let’s look at a familiar story about a tale of 2 women, Mary and Martha:

“As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him.  She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said.  But Martha was distracted by all the preparation that had to be made.  She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me.”  “Martha, Martha, the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed.  Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:38-42

I know for me personally, on weeks like the one I’ve lived and am living now, it is so easy for me to become so wrapped on everything else that is happening, that I miss out on the most important thing.  I forget to just take a moment to relax and breathe, and sit at the feet of Jesus.  Especially in the midst of feeling like I need to get ready and prepped for some big event that is happening.  So at this moment while I write my blog, I am going to take a quick pause and take a few deep breaths and just relax, sit at the feet of Jesus, and spend a few moments with him.  Maybe my life won’t feel quite so crazy, and I can stop stressing about all of things that might happen and I still have left on my to-do list.  Will you take a moment and do the same?

Stacy

One thought on “

  1. Oh Stacy, your thoughts on worry are exactly what our Monday night bible class covered in the book “Stepping Out”. We discussed the author’s comments that even as Christians we are not free from worry, but we do have a Savior who has it all “in hand”. Our shared feeling was we can replace the “what if?” in our life with “no matter what!” My God loves, provides and protects, “no matter what!” Thank you for sharing. Doneta

Leave a Reply

