Rainy Days and Mondays …

 

I’m not a fan of the rain. I think it’s beautiful to watch, and thunderstorms amaze me. I know our earth needs the nourishment, and it’s great for washing away the dirt of the world. But it doesn’t make for good hair days or high spirits. It makes me want to snuggle away in my bed with a good book, a cup of coffee, and my pillow.

I’m also not a fan of Mondays. How God planned this as my blog day, I will never understand. I’m not the ‘it’s a new week and the world is waiting type of person.’ Mondays are back to the grind. It’s the kids that tend to oversleep because the weekend changed their schedule – it’s the hubby who is not always thrilled to tackle a new week of work – and it’s me, who in my job working for a church, feels like now I need a weekend. Yesterday was my ‘big’ day, but now there’s more waiting for me.

The old song is true … rainy days and Mondays always get me down. I love the Carpenters, and their music often just seems so simple now. “Talkin’ to myself and feelin’ old. Sometimes I’d like to quit, nothin’ ever seems to fit. Hangin’ around, nothin’ to do but frown. Rainy days and Mondays always get me down. What I’ve got they used to call the blues. Nothin’ is really wrong, feeling’ like I don’t belong. Walkin’ around, some kind of lonely clown. Rainy days and Mondays always get me down.”

Do you have those days? It may not fall on a Monday, and the weather can be anything under the sun, or clouds, but do you have those days where you’re just down? It’s not because something horrible happened or because you face some daunting task. We are human, and we are emotional, and sometimes, we can just be … not happy. It may not even be what you call sad. Just there. I have plenty of those – on rainy days and sunny days and snowy days – on Mondays and Saturdays and every day in between.

I turn to scripture to fill my cup when that happens, and one of my favorite books is Matthew. In Matthew 11:28-30 the Lord tells us “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” I love this imagery. He can take my burden and give my soul rest – not my body – but rest my soul. It doesn’t matter if the burden is light or incredible. It doesn’t matter if I’m at the point of weeping or just feeling blue. He can take it from me, if I let Him. Sometimes in this earthly world we want to hold on to our pain, but He is always there waiting to help. And when I release it, I can turn and see the sunshine creeping in again.

It’s Monday, and there’s chance of storms today … but right now, I see the Son.

Letting go; letting God,

Dina Newsom

One thought on “Rainy Days and Mondays …

Leave a Reply

