Play Ball

playball

Recently, I was watching my oldest play in a baseball game. He’s 7, soo, first year of kid-pitch. There are modified rules for the little guys as they learn basic skills and how to operate as a team. He’s come a long way in his skill set (as this is his 3rd year playing baseball); however he’s still got a LOT to learn.

As I watched Andrew, I noticed something. He was talking to the kid next to him, then he was watching the birds flying overhead, then he was adjusting his hat, then he found me and waved, then he said something else to another fielder nearby. It’s hard to tell if the diagnosis is A.D.D. or just 7 year-old-boy.  Either way, there was a distinct lack of focus.

As he was making some face at me for the third time, a God-thought struck me. I try not to ignore these, because the Holy Spirit usually has something to tell me…

The thought went a little something like this:

How funny is it that I just want Andrew to pay attention to the game, and all he is doing is looking around to make sure his family is paying attention to him (pretty sure he was pointing out his younger sister and brother to his nearest teammate).

Then this thought: If he’s supposed to be paying attention to the game (focused & in the moment); how much more is God trying to say the same thing to me. I can’t gain any more of His attention by searching for Him when I’m in the game. He’s there. He’s watching me. He’s cheering me on.

“Stay in the moment. Keep your eye on the prize, Stacey”

Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.( Philippians 3:13b-14)

Thank you God, for the gentle reminder to keep my eyes focused and my head in the game.

“Play Ball” – God’s there watching you right now!

~Stacey~

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

