Hands Wide Open

Well, it’s coming up again. Everyone who is in school, myself included, is stirring around in their seats… waiting for classes to end, and summer to begin! But with that stirring can bring some frantic hurrying to get everything done before the final minutes of the clock run out. And it always feels like this huge mountain you have to climb. For me that mountain is filled with lesson plans I need to write, finals I need to study for, loose ends I need to tie up, emotions I don’t want to deal with, responsibilities at work and at home, and friends I don’t want to say goodbye to for a couple of months

I am grateful that the Lord allows for our climbing experiences to be done so intersecting with that of others climbs. I was able to spend time with one of my favorite people in Sunday. To get her insight and to have her pray with me was such a huge blessing. The Lord uses our climbing buddies in extraordinary ways- and mine helped me reset my focus- not on the mountain but on my harness; my Lord who is supporting me and making it possible to lean on Him when I know I cannot climb by my own strength.

19ff9fd07ee3df6bf4b19d0f62c616d1I will be honest, there are some things I took with me on this little adventure that were not only unnecessary, but a huge hindrance for me to be able to properly focus on my trip up the mountain. There is freedom when you let go of hindrances and focus on where the Lord would have you go. You are able to get to the top of the mountain and enjoy the splendor of his creation- what he has accomplished, and what he has allowed us to accomplish with him.

I am encouraged by Psalm 111, which we read in church this Sunday.

Praise the LORD! I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart, in the company of the upright, in the congregation. Great are the works of the LORD, studied by all who delight in them. Full of splendor and majesty is his work, and his righteousness endures forever. He has caused his wondrous works to be remembered; the LO
RD is gracious and merciful. He provides food for those who fear him; he remembers his covenant forever. He has shown his people the power of his works, in giving them the inheritance of the nations. The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy; they are established forever and ever, to be performed with faithfulness and uprightness. He sent redemption to his people; he has commanded his covenant forever. Holy and awesome is his name! The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom; all those who practice it have a good understanding. His praise endures forever!
(Psalm 111 ESV

We can get nervous when we wrap ourselves up with all we might have in front of us. Or the character of God that we are reminded about in this psalm can encourage us to trust him to get us where he would have us go.

There is a song I would like to leave you with today. This song is titled Climb and is a live recording from a night of worship. If you get a chance I hope you can listen to the whole album but this song fits nicely with my heart this week.

May you be filed with the truth of who our steadfast, faithful God is in the middle of what you or a loved one may be going through in this busy season of life.

 

Thank you for reading,

Rachel Maurine

One thought on “Hands Wide Open

Leave a Reply

