Overly Busy

grad1

Things are a little crazy around my house right now. This week we have/had my niece’s confirmation and nephew’s birthday party, Caleb, my older son, arriving home from college for the summer, the school leadership banquet, the spring music concert, Nurik’s (our international student) parents and aunt arriving from Uzbekistan, Nurik’s graduation party, and other graduation parties to attend. This is just one week in a May bubbling over with activity. An anniversary party, a wedding, graduation, and more graduation parties are a few things on our agenda. Of course, with all this comes extra cooking, cleaning, yard work, and shopping.

Whew! I need to catch my breath. Life moves very fast sometimes. I anticipate that the next year will be equally busy if not more so: our youngest son, Christian, will be a high school senior with all that entails.

Today was an especially difficult day for me. I have fibromyalgia and while the pain is fairly well controlled, I struggle with major fatigue at times. Today was one of those days. I had to work this morning, clean house this afternoon, shop for food for a graduation party, and Iate tonight I will go to the airport to meet Nurik’s family. In the midst of it all, my fatigue felt overwhelming and I ended up taking a nap. The best rejuvenation, though, came from my time with God. I am reminded, “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength” (Philippians 4:13).

It is easy during such busy times to forget to “be still and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10). I feel like Martha who was busy with preparations for dinner, rather than Mary who sat at Jesus’ feet. Yet, I am reminded that during this time of busyness, I will be calmed and quieted if I spend time in prayer, spend time in praise, and spend time in God’s Word. It is easy to think of spiritual time as another add on to an overly busy agenda, but in reality it is a time to rejuvenate and be ready for the busyness.

Now I am excited and ready to go forward with the rest of my day. I can’t wait to meet Nurik’s family!

Blessings,

Kelly Haack

One thought on “Overly Busy

  1. Kelly, you nailed it! Such a God thing as I have been feeling the same way….hosting a bridal shower, building a deck, hosting a college graduation party. I keep hearing. Veggietales song in my head (busy, busy, dreadfully busy). Thanks for the great reminder!

Leave a Reply

