Why did the disciples cross the lake?

I think I may need to begin this blog with an apology. Sometimes I cannot help but being cheesy. I love silly jokes; I love ridiculous puns. My husband encourages me so there is no incentive to stop.

My children do the obligatory eye roll. But every now and then they throw a pun of their own out and look my way for my approval. And I give it. Those are proud mom moments.

So, to share from this week, I was reading through John, Chapter 6, verses 16-24 with a really, dear friend. We were pondering some of its implications. Why did the disciples come down to the lake and boat? Why were they afraid? There was such emphasis on them being willing to take Jesus into the boat, why was that? And then she asked it. “Why did the disciples cross the lake?”

Yes, you guessed it, I couldn’t help myself. “To get to the other side!”

Well, verse 16 in the NIV translation actually phrases it this way, “…immediately the boat reached the shore where they were heading.” I took some comedic license.

I really mean no irreverence in any of this. While the question made me laugh, God’s inspired Word is precious to me and I don’t make light of that.

Tomorrow we celebrate our mothers. We get a chance to think about what blessings they are to us, to thank them for the sacrifices they make for us, and let them know how much we appreciate them. I am grateful to my dear mother. While she appreciates a good pun, I don’t often hear her make them – although she DOES do a mean Carnac the Magnificent routine.

There are many things she has taught me and I love her. But one of the things I am most grateful for is her love of the Bible. I have watched her study her Bible my whole life. And with any of life’s difficulties, her sage words in dealing with them are, “have you been in your Bible?” It is everything.

Back to John 6. Take a minute to read the whole section.

Jesus Walks on the Water
16 When evening came, his disciples went down to the lake, 17 where they got into a boat and set off across the lake for Capernaum. By now it was dark, and Jesus had not yet joined them. 18 A strong wind was blowing and the waters grew rough. 19 When they had rowed three or three and a half miles, they saw Jesus approaching the boat, walking on the water; and they were terrified. 20 But he said to them, “It is I; don’t be afraid.” 21 Then they were willing to take him into the boat, and immediately the boat reached the shore where they were heading.

The disciples were struggling. They didn’t know who was coming toward them. They didn’t recognize Jesus; not till he spoke “It is I; don’t be afraid.”

When we are afraid, we too get to draw near to Jesus, in His Word. Don’t you love it when you recognize Him!

Thanks Mom.

Shelli Muldoon

2 thoughts on “Why did the disciples cross the lake?

  1. When you walk through a storm,hold your head up high and don’t be afraid of the dark.Truer words were never spoken.Cherish your mother,she is a keeper:) xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

