The Gratitude of a Small One

I’m taking a small much needed break from lesson plan writing for my final project in my math methods class. I have my last mini Unit to write and it’s for fourth grade- fractions… and of course I am wondering if it was necessary to wait till the last minute again. When will I learn?

Truth be told this is my sub-break to my procrastination break I was taking on pintrest. Trying to convince myself I was “looking up cool fraction games” to put in my lesson. Right. But I did stumble across something that reminded me of the sweetest thing that happened to me exactly a week ago today.

Last Thursday was my last day of practicum for me. I was in a first grade classroom this semester and I have to say, I cannot imagine ever having a better experience. The whole semester was filled with ups and downs but those kids were seriously the sweetest little sunshines (it’s not a real word, I know I know.) you could ever imagine. And my mentoring teacher was amazing, always so encouraging and welcoming.

I had to say goodbye to these sweeties and I knew it was going to be hard. Just thinking about them now makes me miss them! The last few moments were the most precious to me.

They had the sweetest gift for me- an advice apple with a note with advice on how to be a great teacher from each one of them written on an apple all hooked together. I absolutely love it and will cherish it forever. I think I had to reassure them about 20 times that I did love it, and that was going to keep it forever. And they each wanted mw to read their note out loud in front of them!

After we did some fun math games and took some pictures (so sad I can’t show you.. trust me they are so cute!!) I was able to give them my very small gift. You would have thought I had given them each a new car, they were so grateful… I hardly felt like it was much, just a few rolls of smarties strung together with a little note that said it was fun learning with you ‘smarties’ I hope you have a great summer. From Ms. Wilson. They each wanted to read it to me and most of them were calling out their gratitude; “Thank you for calling us smarties! Thank you so much for the candy! Thank you for saying we were fun to learn with!” I mean I just melted.

This burst of gratitude quickly escalated in to one big group hug that went on forever! They did not want to let me go. I just felt so loved and so full. Of what I am not sure. Maybe it was gratitude, just like those sweet kiddos.

These words from Colossians remind me of the hearts of those little ones: 

And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony. And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful… Colossians 3:14-15 ESV

May you be filled with the undefiled love and gratitude like these little ones this week as you rejoice in the gift God has given you.

Thank you for reading,

Ms.Wilson

Leave a Reply

