With all your heart

This past Sunday I had the opportunity to speak to the seniors and their parents during the Sunday School hour.  I struggled all week with what I wanted to say.  What words do you say to seniors who are graduating?  There are so many things I want to share.  The transition ahead of them is not going to be an easy one, and the world is going to challenge a lot of their beliefs.  I want them to stay connected.  I want them to stand firm in the Lord and follow HIS commands and HIS ways and not fall into the patterns of this world.  Upon searching for a passage that would share how I felt, I came upon a passage from Deuteronomy 6.

God is speaking to Moses in this passage and preparing them for their entry into the promised land.  He is giving them a command of what they need to do to follow Him, so they can enter in this land of abundance.  The verses in particular that have struck a chord with me and I continue to meditate are as follows:

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.  These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts.  Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.  Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.  Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.” Deuteronomy 6:5-9

As I keep reading this passage over and over again I start to ask myself this question: What should my role look like in the faith development and maturity of my children? Am I making worship a priority every Sunday with my family? Are we talking about God and teaching our children disciplines such as daily prayer and devotion? Are we as parents volunteering our time with our kids at church or in the community, showing them what it means to be the hands and feet of Jesus? Am I making sure I am taking the primary role of creating disciples of the Lord, with my own children?

Those are some tough questions to ask myself.  I’ll be honest, it’s very easy for me to lose sight of my role when I have 3 loads of laundry to fold and put away, dinner that needs to be cleaned up and put away, and my kids are into their bath time and bed time routine.  When you’re in the middle of the trenches it’s easy to get lost in where you’re heading.

That’s why I think this verse is so encouraging to me as a parent.  Love the Lord with all of my heart, and as I am living my life in the trenches, I can talk about the Lord and live my life in a way that will impress the commands of the Lord on their hearts and minds.

So I am going to make a list of things I want my children to learn about God, and live my life and talk about these values and morals so that when they do get ready to graduate and move on from living with me, they will be prepared to face the temptations and challenges that the world has waiting for them.

Stacy

Leave a Reply

