Downpour

Over the course of a few hours it poured a total of 5.3 inches of rain in Omaha earlier this week. Streets flooded and in parts of the city houses flooded.

I had to drive from Council Bluffs to my home in the southwest part of Omaha in the worst of the rain. In Council Bluffs I drove through puddles so high they splashed over the hood of my car. Until I was in the middle of the washed out intersection did I realize how deep it really was. Needless to say, I was nervous about my car shorting out electrically, but God protected me.

Water can be good when it is clean drinking water, used for bathing, or coming down in moderate amounts to water gardens, farms, and lawns. Too much water, though, can cause devastation as was seen earlier this week.

There is a kind of out pouring though that can never be too much. It is the outpouring of God’s love into my life. I was surprised recently to find that one way we receive the outpouring of God’s love is through trials and tribulations. It is easy to see God’s love when things are going well, but it is when life has troubles that God’s love shows up in abundance. Romans 5:3-5 says this clearly:

“More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces
endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope,
and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has poured into our hearts
through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”

In the past when reading this passage I focused on the fact that suffering in the end produces hope, but when I read the passage again recently I was taken by the fact that the ultimate and most wonderful result of suffering is the pouring out of God’s love through the Holy Spirit. It is not that we do not have God’s love at all times, which we do, but that God’s love is manifest powerfully in our sufferings. It may not seem that way at the time, but as we emerge from our trials, it becomes evident that God’s love was there was all along. What a comfort!

May the Holy Spirit pour out God’s love on you today!

Blessings in Christ,

Kelly Haack

Leave a Reply

