Kill It!

Do you ever have something that bothers you and it just won’t go away? Maybe it’s a habit, maybe it’s someone else’s habit, maybe it’s a lie the Devil tells you that just won’t leave. I am not sure if you can relate, but if I pick up an old habit, or realize I have believed an old lie I already dealt with there is a rush of shame that completely overtakes me, along with the added awfulness (is that a word?) of the habit or lie itself.

Today I found the answer, ladies (and gentlemen??). JUST KEEP KILLING IT. That is right, thou shall not murder does not apply to these sort of situations. I will share my wealth of knowledge, but I must warn the bug enthusiasts to turn away now. Turn away and don’t look back… it will only hurt.

There was this bug, don’t ask me what kind because I showed my dad and he didn’t know either. All I know is this little sucker was resilient. I didn’t realize this critter was even in my room until I heard him running in to things. No, no I know what you’re thinking- you didn’t hear him (or her-I guess-I never checked… I wouldn’t know how) Oh yes, yes I did hear the critter, it was like made of some sort of army grade shell that created all sorts of raucous when it flailed itself in to my walls. The first thing I do is make the most disgusted face, “eeeewwwwwwwww, gross,” then confusion sets in… “what is this thing?” Then it lands. Begin ultimate survivor mode. I will find it, and I will find its family, and I will destroy… Luckily I found him quickly, and I smack it. Done. He is a goner for sure.

While I was trying to find something to scoop it up with (so not toughing it) The thing (and no I am not kidding) pops right back up.. it POPS up. Like the roach from the movie WALL-E this thing un-dies. It happens like 3 times… and then I lose it again. That’s it; at this point I am ready to retreat to the guest room and admit defeat. But before I leave one last reconnaissance mission to ensure I can’t kill this thing. And I found it again! So you know what I did? I decapitated it. Oh my gosh, I felt like I had won world war 3… such victory! That’s when I showed my dad… I don’t think he was as impressed.

So my obvious lesson to you? If habit, sin, lies, or whatever keeps rearing it ugly head back at you seems like it just wont go away- you have to keep killing it. Just keep bringing it to the Lord, and you two can decapitate it together.

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. (James 1:2-4 ESV)

So kill it with wisdom, with faith, heck you could even kill it with kindness! Just know you aren’t killing it alone. Okay enough of that. I hope you all have a joyous week, and I will see you again next Thursday!

 

Rachel Maurine

Leave a Reply

